Skip to main content

Faculty and Staff

Full-time Faculty & Staff

Edward Munn Sanchez, PhD

Dean of the Honors College & Teaching Professor

Phone:(314)516-5245 E-mail: munne@umsl.edu

Advises Honors Students:

  • Bachelor of Interdisciplinary Studies (BIS)
  • Philosophy
  • Pre-Law
Gerth

Daniel Gerth, MA

Associate Dean of the Honors College & Associate Teaching Professor

Phone:(314)516-7197 E-mail: gerthd@umsl.edu

Advises Honors Students:

  • Engineering and pre-engineering
  • Opportunity Scholars Program
  • Physics
  • Pre-health sciences (pre-med, pre-vet, pre-optometry, pre-dental, pre-pharmacy, etc.)
  • Social Work and Pre-social Work

Nancy Gleason, MA

Associate Dean Emerita, Director of Writing, & Teaching Professor

Phone: (314)516-6629 E-mail: nancygleason@umsl.edu

Advises Honors Students:

  • Bachelor of Liberal Studies (BLS)
  • Writing Certificate Program

Kimberly Baldus, PhD

Teaching Professor

Phone: (314)516-4231 E-mail: balduski@umsl.edu

Advises Honors Students:

  • Art History
  • Psychology (last names A-M)
  • Studio Art
  • Theater Arts
Richardson.JPG

Jennifer Richardson, MA

Academic Advisor

Phone: (314)516-5701 E-mail: askjen@umsl.edu

Advises Honors Students:

  • Accounting
  • Actuarial Science
  • Business Administration (including all emphasis areas: Finance, International Business, Management, Marketing, and Supply Chain Management)
  • Communication
  • Criminology and Criminal Justice
  • Economics
  • Information Systems
  • Media Studies
  • Nursing
  • Undeclared Majors (A-M)

Gerianne Friedline, MA

Associate Teaching Professor

Phone: (314)516-7874 E-mail: friedlineg@umsl.edu

Advises Honors Students:

  • Education (all areas except Music Education)
  • History
  • Sociology

Sherry Gerrein

Administrative Associate

Phone:(314)516-5243 E-mail: gerreins@umsl.edu

Assists Honors Students & Faculty

Holly Pope, PhD

Student Recruitment Specialist

Phone: (314)516-7769 E-mail: askholly@umsl.edu

Assists Honors Students:

  • Admissions & Enrollment
  • Financial Aid & Scholarships
  • Student Mentor Advisory and Recruitment Team (SMART)

Christoph Schiessl, PhD

Associate Teaching Professor

Phone: (314)516-6871 E-mail: schiesslc@umsl.edu

Advises Honors Students:

  • Biology (Non-health Sciences)
  • Biochemistry (Non-health Science)
  • Chemistry (Non-health Science)
  • Computer Science
  • Mathematics

Ann Torrusio, MA

Assistant Teaching Professor

Phone: (314)516-4230 E-mail:torrusioa@umsl.edu

Advises Honors Students:

  • English
  • International Relations
  • Modern Languages Languages
  • Political Science
  • Public Policy

Kate Votaw, PhD

Assistant Teaching Professor

Phone: (314)516-7152 E-mail:katevotaw@umsl.edu

Advises Honors Students:

  • Anthropology
  • Music and Music Education
  • Psychology (N-Z)
  • Undeclared majors (N-Z)

Campus Teaching Faculty

*Crucial to our inter-disciplinary approach to education is the assistance we receive from other colleges across campus. The following full-time UMSL faculty teach select courses in Honors in addition to courses in their home unit.

Anne Austin :: Anthropology Assistant Teaching Professor austinan@umsl.edu 

Maria Balogh :: Foreign Languages Associate Teaching Professor baloghm@umsl.edu 

Andrew Black :: Philosophy Teaching Professor ablack@umsl.edu

Ruth Bohan :: Art & Art History Professor bohan@umsl.edu

Susan Brownell :: Anthropology Professor sbrownell@umsl.edu

Joseph Carroll :: English Professor jcarroll@umsl.edu

Nate Daugherty :: Study Abroad Coordinator daughertyn@umsl.edu  

Jill Delston :: Philosophy Associate Teaching Professor delstonj@umsl.edu

Beth Eckelkamp :: Associate Provost for Student Success and Teaching Professor beckelkamp@umsl.edu

Susan Feigenbaum :: Economics Professor sskfeig@umsl.edu

Bernard Feldman :: Joint Engineering Program Associate Dean and Professor of Physics feldmanb@umsl.edu

Charles Granger :: Biology Curators Teaching Professor grangerch@umsl.edu

David Griesedieck :: Philosophy Teaching Professor davidgr@umsl.edu

Barbara Harbach :: Music Professor bharbach@umsl.edu

Margo Hurwicz :: Associate Professor Emerita of Gerontology hurwicm@umsl.edu 

Courtney McDermott :: Social Work Assistant Teaching Professor mcdermottc@umsl.edu 

Jon McGinnis :: Philosophy Professor and Fellow in Public Policy Research Centers mcginnis@umsl.edu

Amy Michael :: Foreign Languages and Literature Assistant Teaching Professor michaela@umsl.edu

Jean Nelson :: Nursing Teaching Professor jean_nelson@umsl.edu

Kathleen Nigro :: English Associate Teaching Professor nigrok@umsl.edu

Jennifer Nolan :: Anthropology Assistant Teaching Professor nolanjj@umsl.edu 

Ekin Pellegrini :: Business Management Associate Professor pellegrinie@umsl.edu

Scott Peterson :: English Associate Professor petersonsco@umsl.edu 

Gualtiero Piccinini :: Philosophy Associate Professor piccininig@umsl.edu

David Robertson :: Political Science Curators Teaching Professor and Fellow in Public Policy Research Centers daverobertson@umsl.edu

J. Martin Rochester :: Political Science Curators Teaching Professor rochester@umsl.edu

Waldemar Rohloff :: Philosophy Assistant Teaching Professor rohloffw@umsl.edu

Uma Segal :: Social Work Professor and Fellow in International Studies & Public Policy Research Centers umasegal@umsl.edu

Benjamin Torbert :: English Associate Professor torbertb@umsl.edu

Adriano Udani :: Political Science Assistant Professor udania@umsl.edu 

Eric Wiland :: English Professor wiland@umsl.edu 

Susan Waller :: Art & Art History Associate Professor wallersu@umsl.edu

Jodi Heaps Woodruff :: MIMH Assistant Research Professor heapsj@umsl.edu 

Patti Wright :: Anthropology Associate Professor pjwright@umsl.edu

Part-time Honors College Faculty

*Our course offerings are also enriched by contributions from the following part-time faculty, some of whom also teach in other units on campus.

Jessica Bleile :: Adjunct Instructor bleilej@umsl.edu 

Robert Bliss :: Honors College Dean Emeritus rmbliss@umsl.edu 

David Cormier :: Adjunct Instructor cormierd@umsl.edu 

Michelle Ciurria :: Adjunct Instructor ciurriam@umsl.edu 

Katelyn Delveaux :: Adjunct Instructor delvauxk@umsl.edu 

Jay Fish :: Adjunct Instructor j.l.fish@umsl.edu 

Elizabeth Grimm-Howell :: Adjunct Instructor grimmhowelle@umsl.edu

Charles Herrick :: Adjunct Instructor charlesherrick@mail.umsl.edu

Donna Higgins :: Adjunct Instructor higginsdl@umsl.edu 

Repps Hudson :: Adjunct Instructor hudsonre@umsl.edu

Subi Lakshmanan :: Adjunct Instructor lakshmananm@umsl.edu

Ryan Newcomer :: Adjunct Instructor newcomerr@umsl.edu 

Kelly Oman :: Adjunct Instructor omank@umsl.edu 

Vickie Schrage :: Adjunct Instructor schragev@umsl.edu 

Benjamin Uchitelle :: Adjunct Instructor uchitelleb@umsl.edu

Mary Vermilion :: Assistant Adjunct Professor vermilion@umsl.edu

Kathryn Walterscheid :: Honors College Lecturer walterscheidk@umsl.edu

Kathryn Weber :: Adjunct Instructor weberkr@umsl.edu

C. Rob Wilson :: Adjunct Instructor wilsoncha@umsl.edu

Kenneth Wolfe :: Adjunct Instructor wolfeke@umsl.edu