Common Searches

We are a public research university guided by a powerful mission to transform lives.

At UMSL, eastern Missouri’s only public research university, highly talented researchers work to solve some of society’s biggest problems. Fueled by powerful partnerships with industry, government and nonprofits, UMSL faculty work across disciplines and with the community to co-create new knowledge and solutions related to disease, drug shortages, health inequities, food safety, climate change, urban education, addiction and mental health, justice system reform, and so much more.

Also, as a Carnegie-designated community-engaged institution, UMSL serves as an anchor institution for the St. Louis region. In partnership with Edward Jones, UMSL co-leads the St. Louis Anchor Action Network which works with a coalition of large organizations in the region to create opportunities for all St. Louisans through local hiring, purchasing, career development and community investment. 

Collectively, our team works to empower UMSL’s research community with the resources, tools and support to conduct rigorous, impactful research and bring your discoveries and creative works to market as useful products, services and solutions that improve people’s lives.

Centers and Institutes

Award winner with college leadership

UMSL investigator and innovator of the year awards

Each year, the University of Missouri-St. Louis Office of Research and Community & Economic Development honors outstanding faculty in the areas of research, invention, and commercialization.

Award winners and criteria

Vice Chancellor

Chris SpillingChris Spilling, Ph.D.
Professor of Chemistry
Vice Chancellor for Research and Economic & Community Development

For scheduling and other assistance, contact Carolyn Young, Executive Assistant, at carolyn.young@umsl.edu or (314) 516-4251.


Upcoming Events