Skip to main content

2006-2008 Trailblazers

2008 Trailblazers

Abigail Birhanu
Awarded Grand Center's 2007 Visionary Awards-Emerging Artist, recognizing St. Louis women who have been instrumental in helping advance the arts; awarded Marie Larkin & Des Lee Art Education Scholarship; Pierre Laclede Honor's graduate.

Antionette D. Dickens
Contributed significantly to the University through her leadership roles as President of the Associated Black Collegians, vice president of Sistakeeper, and vice president of Ad Corps; inducted in the Golden Key International Honour Society; inducted in Phi Kappa Phi Honor society; named in Who's Who Among Students in American Universities & Colleges; 2006-2007 National Dean's List.

Sally Barr Ebest
Designed the English department's first comprehensive Teaching Assistant (TA) training program, including a pre-semester workshop and a required seminar; her article "Gender Differences in Writing Program Administration" was the first to point out the institutional and collegial prejudice faced by female administrators; coordinated University's first campus-wide TA conference; developed the campus' first graduate Certificate in University Teaching (CUT).

Edna Campos Gravenhorst
Named the Society of Hispanic Professional Engineers National Star Honorary Member in 2007 for authoring and publishing, Ay, Mija Why do you want to be an engineer?;board member of the Center for the Humanities Community, the Chancellor's Cultural Diversity Initiative at the University of Missouri-St. Louis, Gallery Visio, and the Cultural Festivals and Laumeier Sculpture Park.

Zuleyma Tang Martinez
First woman and first ethnic minority to receive tenure and be promoted to Full Professor in the Biology Department; first Latina and ethnic minority to be elected President of the Animal Behavior Society and Chair of the Division of Animal Behavior of the American Society of Zoologists; 1995 St. Louis Educational Equity Award for Higher Education from the St. Louis Educational Equity Coalition; 2007 Exceptional Service Award from the Animal Behavior Society; St. Louis Alzheimer's Association Volunteer of the Year Award in 2002.

2007 Trailblazers

Olivia Ayes
Contributed significantly to the University through her involvement in event programming for the Women's Resource Center; awarded the National Honor Society Scholarship, the English Alumni Scholarship, the Margaret Bush Wilson Scholarship, & the Honors College Scholarship; named in the 2004 Who's Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges; and, served as Managing Editor for issue 16 of Natural Bridge.

Ann Chisholm
Contributed significantly to the University through involvement with student government, serves as student senator and co-chair of the Senate committee on Student Affairs; awarded the University's Community Building Fellowship for 2007; and, named in the 2007 Who's Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges.

Tracy E. Hart
First female to become President of a major general contracting company in St. Louis, one of only a handful of women nationally leading a major contracting company; recognized as one of the "25 Most Influential Business Women;" first woman named Chairperson of the Associated General Contractors of American's National Quality in Construction committee; and, established the Tarlton Corporation Endowment at the University.

Lynda Lieberman
One of the few women to serve on the Missouri State Board of Accountancy and served as president of the board from 2004-2006; served as the President of the St. Louis Chapter of the Missouri Society of CPAs; a Board member of the St. Louis Chapter of the Association for Corporate Growth; a Board member of the National Association of Certified Valuation Analysts; and a UM-St. Louis alumna.

Nancy Magnuson
First female Assistant Vice Provost for Student Affairs, University Health, Wellness & Counseling Services; implemented the University's first Nurse Directed Clinic with collaborative practice agreements; serves on the Gender Task Force; named Who's Who Among American Nurses; and, Strathmore's Who's Who.

Orinthia Montague
First female Associate Vice Provost for Student Affairs and Dean of Students; member of the National Association of Student Personnel Administrators, serving four times on their national career services committee; and, selected to participate in the 2005 Alice Manicur Symposium.

Nanora Sweet
Contributed significantly to the University for her work in support of women and gender-sensitive men and in the wider communities of poets, scholars, feminists, and their friends; named an Outstanding Organization Advisor in 1994 and 1996; name College of Arts and Science's Lecturer of the Year in 1995; directed the Institute for Women's and Gender Studies from 1997 to 2000; and, honored as a Woman of Worth by the St. Louis Older Women's League.

2006 Trailblazers

Glen H. Cope
First UMSL Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, former Dean of the College of Public Affairs and Administration at University of Illinois Springfield, former president of the American Society for Public Administration, Fellow of the National Academy of Public Administration.

Maria C. Curtis
Student Representative to the University of Missouri Board of Curators, served in the UMSL Student Senate from 2002 to Spring 2005, Senior Mentor, represented UMSL at the 2003 Governor's Leadership Forum on Faith and Values, pursuing her Master's degree in Public Policy at UMSL.

Deborah Henry
Charter member of St. Louis Pride Study Commission for Education, First Board President of Construction Careers, Education and Support Services (ACCESS), received one of three "Women of Achievement in Construction" award in recognition of her work over many years to increase diversity in construction, UMSL alumna and Faculty.

Donna Morrow
The first female Mayor of O'Fallon in the city's 150-year history, worked in executive level positions in telecommunications and direct marketing, earned the Leadership of the Year Award from the Metropolitan Disaster Resource Council, recognized for her superior client service, UMSL alumna.

Chris L. Wright
Superintendent of Hazelwood School District, President of the Missouri Association of School Administrators, winner of the Effie Jones Humanitarian Award for her efforts to diversify the field of educational leadership, awarded the Corrigan-Wiesman Award for her work with at-risk youth, received the Distinguished Citizen Award by the St. Louis Argus, UMSL alumna.