Common Searches

Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Teaching to a Tenured or Tenure-Track Faculty Member

This Award recognizes and honors faculty for outstanding achievement in teaching at the undergraduate and/or graduate student levels.

An award plaque and honorarium of $1,000 is presented at the Chancellor's State of the University Address in the Fall semester.

Nominees must be tenured or tenure-track, full-time faculty at UMSL.

Nominees must show evidence consistent with the priorities and goals outlined in the UMSL Strategic Plan, demonstrating:

  • Teaching effectiveness, including evidence of student learning
  • Academic standards that promote excellence in undergraduate and/or graduate teaching
  • Innovative approaches that foster student achievement and retention
  • Substantial contributions to student mentoring, advising, and/or civic engagement

Submission of Materials and Format:
All nominations must include the following materials:

  • Cover page with name, position, academic address of nominee and nominator, and a checklist of included documents
  • Nomination letter
  • Curriculum vitae, including a list of courses taught
  • Nominee’s philosophy of teaching statement, explicitly outlining teaching goals, teaching strategies and methods of bringing one's current research, scholarship, or creative activity into the teaching process. Statement should not exceed three (3) double-spaced pages.
  • Evidence supporting nomination criteria
  • Representative syllabi (2) from the nominee’s courses
  • A summary of course evaluations (qualitative and quantitative data).  Include a copy of the evaluation(s) used with an explanation of the scale for quantitative data.    
  • Letters of support (no more than five) from students, alumni, colleagues, administrators and community leaders. Include at least two letters from students and one letter from a colleague invited to observe in the faculty member’s classes. Each letter should be limited to 2 pages in length.

Winning nominations will become public information and shared with the campus community. Candidates and nominators demonstrate their agreement to allow the packets to become public through the submission process. (The letters of support, individual course evaluations and the candidate's C.V. are exempt from this public disclosure.)

Nomination Procedure:
The Senate Faculty Teaching and Service Awards Committee receives and reviews all nominations and presents its recommendation to the chancellor for final approval. The Committee requires submission through electronic format. These nominations should be a single file in MS Word or pdf format, and should be emailed to the Senate office (senate@umsl.edu) no later than 5 pm on the deadline.

Deadline for Submission:

March 1, 2024 at 11:59 p.m. is the deadline for submission of nomination and completed materials packet.


Previous Award Winners:

2022 - 2023 Kara Moskowitz, Associate Professor, Department of History, College of Arts and Sciences
2021 - 2022 Aimee Dunlap, Associate Professor, Department of Biology, College of Arts and Sciences
2020 - 2021 Joseph Rottman, Professor of Information Systems and Technology, College of Business Administration
2018 - 2019 Kurt Schreyer, Associate Professor, Department of English, College of Arts and Sciences 
2017 - 2018 Vicki Sauter, Professor, Department of Information Systems, College of Business Administration
2016 - 2017 Greg Geisler, Professor, Accounting, College of Business Administration
2015 - 2016 Frank Grady, Professor, Department of English, College of Arts and Sciences
2014 - 2015 Sanjiv Bhatia, Professor, Department of Mathematics and Computer Science, College of Arts and Sciences
2013 - 2014 Michael W. Bahr, Associate Professor, Department of Educational Psychology, Research and Evaluation, College of Education
2012 - 2013 Edward S. Bennett, Assistant Dean and Associate Professor, College of Optometry
2011 - 2012  J. Frederick Fausz, Associate Professor, History, College of Arts and Sciences
2008 - 2009 Bernard J. Feldman, Professor of Physics and Associate Dean, UMSL/Wash. U. Joint Undergraduate Engineering Program
2007 - 2008 Stephen R. Moehrle, Associate Professor, Accounting
2006 - 2007 Jean-Germain Gros, Associate Professor, Political Science
2005 - 2006 Anne E. Winkler, Professor, Economics and Public Policy Administration
2004 - 2005 Edward Lawrence, Professor, Finance
2003 - 2004 Sally Barr Ebest, Associate Professor, English
2002 - 2003 David Robertson, Professor, Political Science
2001 - 2002 Margaret Sherraden, Associate Professor, Social Work
2000 - 2001 Richard Pacelle, Associate Professor, Political Science
1999 - 2000 Susan Feigenbaum, Professor, Economics
1998 - 1999 Arthur Shaffer, Professor, History
1997 - 1998 Rudolph Winter, Associate Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry
1996 - 1997 Steven Hause, Professor, History
1995 - 1996 Carol Kohfeld, Professor, Political Science
1994 - 1996 Richard Rosenfeld, Professor, Criminology and Criminal Justice
1993 - 1994 Lloyd Richardson, Professor, Education Leadership and Policy Studies
1992 - 1993 Patricia Jakubowski, Professor, Counseling and Family Therapy
1991 - 1992 J. Martin Rochester, Professor, Political Science
1990 - 1991 Robert Sorenson, Professor, Economics
1989 - 1990 Yael Even, Associate Professor, Art and Art History
1988 - 1989 Laurence Madeo, Lecturer, Management Science and Information Systems