Common Searches

Young Artist Competition

The UMSL Music Department is thrilled to announce the 2023-2024 Young Artist Competition! The competition will take place on November 17, 2023 at the Touhill Performing Arts Center in the Lee Theater. Information regarding auditions for the Young Artist Competition can be found by choosing College Division or Junior Division.

WINNERS, 2022:

College Division 
Dasol Kim, piano
John Tobin, viola

Junior Division
Winner: Hannah Wolkowitz, alto saxophone
Runner-up: Christian Won, piano
Honorable Mention: Asher Koh, piano


WINNERS, 2021:

College Division
Winner: Bailey Kayser, vibraphone
Runner-up: Jing Qiao, soprano
Honorable Mention: Miho Tago, piano

Junior Division
Winner: Bradley Smith, violin
Runner-up: Micaela Chyu, violin
Honorable Mention: Asher Koh, piano


WINNERS, 2020:

College Division
Winners: Alayna Epps, soprano; Jiaping Hu, piano; Conor Mathenia, percussion
Runners-up: Anna Klein, piano; Lexi Neal, mezzo-soprano; Samantha Barton, piano 
Honorable Mention: Madeleine James, soprano

Junior Division
Winners: Jay Lipsutz, viola; Izabella Saldana, flute; Kai Montgomery, bass/Natalie Van Winkle, cello (Duet)
Runners-up: Hannah Ohms, piano; Hope Hyink, viola
Honorable Mentions: Natalie Van Winkle, cello; Sophia Heaton, violin

Judges for 2020

Taras Gabora, performing artist and teacher. Professor of violin at McGill University, the JMC Orford Art Centre, Conservatoire de Musique du Québec

Tian Ying, performing artist and teacher. Associate Professor of Keyboard Performance at the Frost School of Music - University of Miami


WINNERS, 2019:

College Division

Winner: James Farquhar, cello
Runners-up: Haydn Jones, violin; David Brown, cello
Honorable mention: Lexi Neal, Mezzo-Soprano

Kuehler Solo

Daniel Kuehler performs Brahms' Piano Concerto No. 1 with the UMSL University Orchestra 


*Residents of Midwest Student Exchange Program (MSEP) member states receive 150% of resident college tuition rates, a significant savings compared to out-of-state tuition rates. The following states are members: Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, and Wisconsin.