Skip to main content

The College of Arts and Sciences Academic Advising Office is actively engaged with our diverse UMSL community of students, staff, faculty and external constituents.

cas office

We are educators who empower students to create a personal plan that identifies their path to academic success. We know we are successful when our students build strong relationships within the UMSL community, make timely progress towards graduation, and transition to meaningful post-undergraduate endeavors

The Dr. Marcus Allen Advising Center in 303 Lucas Hall serves most majors in the College of Arts & Sciences (CAS) and The School of Fine and Performing Arts. Advisors meet regularly with undergraduate students to discuss degree progress, course selections, and campus policies as well as refer students to other appropriate campus entities.

Who advises my major?

While many students in CAS and The School of Fine and Performing Arts receive advising in 303 Lucas, students in several degree programs should meet primarily with their departmental advisor. For CAS those degrees are Anthropology, Biology, Biochemistry & Biotechnology, Chemistry, Economics, Physics & Astronomy, or both Pre-Social Work and Social Work.

For the School of Fine and Performing Arts Art Education, Music, or Music Education should meet with their department.

A full list of faculty advisors is available at our faculty advisors page.

View our professional staff advisors below.


della fave

Michael Della-Fave

Academic Advisor
dellafavem@umsl.edu

Advises:
Psychology




grace derda

Grace Derda

Student Services Coordinator
derda@umsl.edu

Advises:
Music
Philosophy
Pre-Law




linda

Linda Guetterman

Senior Academic Advisor
guettermanl@umsl.edu

Advises:
Computer Science and Computing Technology
Math
Economics
Actuarial Science




sylvia

Sylvia Harris

Assistant Director of Academic Advising and Student Services
sharris@umsl.edu

Advises:
Communication
Interdisciplinary Studies




sarah

Sarah Klekamp

Senior Academic Advisor
klekamp@umsl.edu

Advises:
Studio Art
English
Modern Languages




mike

Mike Koertel

Senior Academic Advisor
koertelmi@umsl.edu

Advises:
Undeclared
Career Advising




meghan

Meghan Mentesana

Academic Advisor
mentesanam@umsl.edu

Advises:
Biochemistry and Biotechnology
Biology
Chemistry
Physics




perez

John Perez

Senior Academic Advisor
perezj@umsl.edu

Advises:
Criminology and Criminal Justice
Sociology
Anthropology




southerland

Joe Southerland

Pre-Health Advisor
southerlandj@umsl.edu

Advises:
Pre-Health
Undeclared - Engineering interest




white

Racheal White

Academic Advisor
whiterac@umsl.edu

Advises:
Bachelors of Liberal Studies
Political Science
Public Policy Administration
International Relations
History