Skip to main content

Previous UMSL Recipients of the University of Missouri Thomas Jefferson Award


The Thomas Jefferson Award, funded through a grant from the Robert Earll McConnell Foundation, honors a member of the University of Missouri community who "through personal influence and performance of duty in teaching, writing and scholarship, character and influence, devotion and loyalty to the University best exemplifies the principles and ideals of Thomas Jefferson." For example, Jefferson encouraged competition among ideas, rejected superstition in favor of a scientific and rational world view, believed that society and government should be tolerant of differences, supported free public education and the application of knowledge to the solution of public problems, and was devoted to free expression.

In light of its stated purpose, the Thomas Jefferson Award recognizes individuals who rise above excellence and demonstrate clear distinction in teaching, research, writing, creative activities, and service to the University of Missouri and humankind.

Previous UMSL Award Winners:

2011 Marvin W. Berkowitz, Educational Psychology, Research & Evaluation

2007 Michael Harris, Professor of Management and Fellow, Center for International Studies and International Business Institute

2001 Steven Hause, Department of History

1997 Donald Phares, Professor of Economics and Public Policy

1992 Doris Trojcak, Professor of Education

1990 Joy Eugene Whitener, Dean Emeritus, Evening College and Professor of Education

1984 Sioma Kagan, Emeritus Professor of International Business

1981 James H Laue, Associate Professor of Sociology

1975 James Neil Primm, Professor of History

1969 James L. Bugg, Jr., Former Chancellor - University of Missouri-St. Louis

1968 John Neihart, Poet, University of Missouri-St. Louis