Any IDEA of someone on your campus who fosters inclusion, diversity, and equity in an innovative way? Wouldn’t it be great if their hard work was recognized at this year’s Focus on Teaching and Technology Conference (FTTC)?

This year we have adopted a two-stage nomination process. Stage 1: As the nominator you simply have to give a short description of what the nominee did. This should take you less than 10 minutes to complete. Stage 2: The nominee will give relevant details of what, why, how, and the impact of their innovation.  

Recognize Yourself or your Colleagues

Take time today to nominate yourself or a colleague for the 2022 FTTC Inclusion, Diversity, and Equity Award (I.D.E.A.). Nominations are due by August 29, 2022.

  1. Nominate an instructor who implemented teaching or teaching with technology innovation that has positively impacted diversity, equity, and inclusion in the learning environment
  2. Nominate an instructional designer who is working hard to improve aspects of inclusion, diversity, and equity on campus and/or online.

Award Details 

  • Nomination Form
  • Rubric for reviewing nomination
  • Deadline for Stage 1 is August 29th
    • Nominees will be contacted on August 30th and will have until September 13th at 5:00 PM to submit their materials (Stage 2)  

No-Cost registration

Scholarships are not available for the virtual FTTC 2022, though we recognize our reduced $25.00 FTTC 2022 registration fee may not be an easy expense for everyone. We have opportunities for faculty, staff, and students to volunteer for the conference and register at no cost as a volunteer. For more information about what serving as a volunteer might look like, please email us at fttc@umsl.edu or register on our site for the conference as a volunteer. We'll contact everyone who registers as a volunteer in August and September with more details.

FTTC 2021 Inclusion, Diversity, and Equity Award (I.D.E.A) Winners

2021 I.D.E.A. for Instructional Design Award Recipient

Jennager Alexander

2022 I.D.E.A. for Instruction Award Recipient

Janeal White


2020 Award Winner:

Amy Simons,

University of Missouri

2019 Award Winner:

Robing Grebing,

Maryville U.

2019 Award Winner:

Dustin York,

Maryville U.

2018 Award Winner:

Nicolas Libre,

Missouri S&T

2017 Award Winner:

Susanne James,


2016 Award Winner:

Candace Chambers,

Maryville U.

2016 Award Winner:

Qiang Dotzel,