Common Searches

Departmental News: 2010-12


  • HARRY W. ORF BS 1971 spoke in the department on Friday December 14, at 1:00 pm on "Siezing Serendipity and Preparing for Opportunity Knocks: Lessons Learned from a Personal Career Journey".  Click here for details.
  • HARRY W. ORF BS 1971 received an honorary degree from the University at the December 15 2012 Commencement. He  had been Vice President for Scientific Operations and Professor of Chemistry at the Scripps Florida Research Institute since 2004, which is located in Jupiter, FL but returned to Massachusetts General Hospital as Senior Vice President for Research in February 2012. Harry spent 21 years at MGH and was Director of the Molecular Biology Laboratories there.  He received his PhD degree with E. J. Corey at Harvard University.
  • ALUMNI RECEPTION was held on April 21, 2012 at which Joyce Corey and Rudi Winter were honored.  About 100 alumni, faculty members and friends were in attendance.  Special comments were made by Jean (Huhmann) Vincent BA 1992, PhD 1997 and Bill Van Arsdale BA 1978, PhD 1984
  • IMPORTANT LECTURESHIPS PLANNED: The two major external lectureships for 2012 have been arranged. On March 19 2012 Professor Valentino Stella, University Distinguished Professor of Pharmaceutical Chemistry at the University of Kansas, will present the Fifteenth Annual Robert W. Murray Lecture and on April 30, 2012, Dr. Stephen A. Kolodziej BA 1987, PhD 1992, will present the 25th Annual Distinguished Alumni Lecture. Details for both will be forthcoming.
  •  GEORGE W. GOKEL named Director of the Center for Nanoscience in October 2011.  See story in UMSL Daily.


  • GEORGE GOKEL WINS CHANCELLOR"S AWARD FOR RESEARCH AND CREATIVITY. Dr. George W. Gokel, Distinguished Prpfessor of Science, Professor of Chemistry and Associate Director of the Center for Nanoscience, received the 2011 Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Research and Creativity. The award was set up to honor a full-time faculty member who has demonstrated superior research or creative contributions to the university. It includes a cash stipend to be presented as part of the State of the University Address in September.
  • ALUMNA HONORED BY THE AMERICAN CHEMICAL SOCIETY. Dr Elizabeth A. Amin (see below) BA 1996, PhD 2003, Assistant Professor of Medicinal Chemistry at the University of Minnesota, was just named winner of the ACS HP Outstanding Junior Faculty Award for 2011 by the Division of Computers in Chemistry, and will be honored at the ACS meeting in Denver in the fall.
  • IMPORTANT LECTURESHIPS PLANNED FOR 2011: The two major external lecturships for 2010-11 have been arranged. On April 4, 2011, Dr Steven V. Ley, BP Professor of Chemistry at Cambridge University, will present the Fourteenth Annual Robert W. Murray Lecture and on May 2, 2011, Dr. Elizabeth A. Amin, Assistant Professor of Medicinal Chemistry at the University of Minnesota, will present the 24th Annual Distinguished Alumni Lecture. Details for both will be forthcoming.
  • ALUMNI WEEKEND - April 16 2011, 3:00 - 5:30 pm. During Alumni Weekend on April 15 and 16, the department hosted an event: 'Chemistry Connections and Open House'in the west wing of the fourth floor of Benton Hall. Presentations were made on careers and the importance of networking. They were followed by department tours and a social hour involving faculty and students presenting posters on their current work. A goal, in addition to the organized program, was to provide an opportunity for alumni to meet the faculty and some of the students. Alumni who were either presenters or panelists included: Richard A. Hoyt (Covidien) BS 1976, Sean Dingman (Sigma Aldrich) BS 1994, Eric Bruton (Jost Chemical) BS 1997, PhD 2003, Robert L. Dittrich (Nestle-Purina Petcare) BS 1976, Kim Gorman (Paternity Testing Corporation) BA 1993, L. Jeanette Hencken (Webster Groves High School) BA 1985, Suzanne Pea (Covidien) BS 1984 and Kevin Trankler (Novus International Inc.) BS 1997, PhD 2004


  • A former colleague passes. For those of you who were here in the mid to late 1980s, Ramasubbu Jeyaraman (RJ) who with Bob Murray did the seminal work on dimethyldioxirane, died recently. A copy of the obituary is available here.
  • An article in the St. Louis Post Dispatch on July 21, describes describes ACS Project SEED activity undertaken by student Gabriel Hermadez in the laboratory of his mentor Professor Stephen Holmes. Professor Keith Stine is the ACS Program Project SEED Coordinator in St. Louis. Click here to see the article.
  • May 20 - 22 the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry will host the 43rd Silicon SymposiumProfessor Janet Braddock-Wilking is the Symposium Organizer.
  • Monday May 3, 2010. The 23rd Distinguished Alumni Lecture: 4:00 pm, 451 Benton Hall, Monday May 3. Barbara Willis Brown, Manager, Student & Special Services, College of Optometry. UM-St. Louis spoke on "Unintended Outcomes". The lecture was preceded by the student awards ceremony and followed by a reception. For details, click here.
  • April 22, 2010. St. Louis Scientists Awards were presented at the Awards Dinner at the Chase Park Plaza. Hal Harris was named recipient of the 2010 Science Educator Award of the Academy of Science St. Louis. The award recognizes a distinguished individual or organization on the basis of outstanding contributions to science education or to the public understanding of science, engineering, or technology.
  • Tuesday March 23, 2010. University of Missouri-St. Louis Chemistry Alumni Reception at the San Francisco ACS Meeting. 5:30 - 7:30 pm, Moscone Center, 250 West Mezzanine.
  • March 13, 2010, Keith Stine received the St Louis SectionACS Distinguished Service Award. This award, established in 1993 by the Board of Directors, is intended to recognize distinguished service by a member of the Section through excellent contributions, outstanding leadership, and continuing service to the Section.
  • March 13, 2010.A reception was held honoring the retirement of Lol Barton. A slide show of the event is available.
  • March 8, 2010. The Thirteenth Annual Robert W. Murray Lecture was presented by Daniel G. Nocera, the Henry Dreyfus Professor of Energy and Professor of Chemistry at Massachusette Institute of Technology. Details are available here as is an abstract of the presentation.

Departmental News Archives