This Award recognizes and honors outstanding academic, humanitarian, or professional service.  There are two types of award:

  1. The Campus Service Award recognizes faculty for distinguished service on our campus.  Nominees will have made exceptional contributions to achieving one or more goals of the university, while embodying the values of the university.
  2. The Civic Engagement Award recognizes faculty for distinguished service to the community beyond the boundaries of the University.


One award plaque and one honorarium of $1,000 in either Campus Service or Civic Engagement is presented at the Chancellor's State of the University Address in the fall semester.



Nominees must be tenured, full-time, faculty with seven or more years of service at UMSL.



Nominees must show evidence consistent with the priorities and goals outlined in the UMSL Strategic Plan, demonstrating:

Submission Materials and Format:

All nominations must include the following materials.

Winning nominations will become public information and shared with the campus community. Candidates and nominators demonstrate their agreement to allow the packets to become public through the submission process. (The letters of support and the candidate's C.V. are exempt from this public disclosure.)

Nomination Procedure:

The Senate Faculty Teaching and Service Awards Committee receives and reviews all nominations. and presents its recommendation to the chancellor for final approval. The Committee requires submission through electronic format. These nominations should be a single file in MS Word or pdf format, and should be emailed to the Senate office (senate@umsl.edu) no later than 5 pm on the deadline.

Deadline for Submission:

July 21, 2017, 2016 at 5 p.m. is the deadline for submission of nomination and completed materials packet.


Rubric for Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Service

Previous Award Winners for Service:

2015-2016 Sally Barr Ebest, Professor, Department of English, College of Arts and Sciences

2014-2015 Chris Spilling,  Professor, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, College of Arts and Sciences

2013-2014 Richard B. Rosenfeld, Curators' Professor, Department of Criminology and Criminal Justice, College of Arts and Sciences

2012-2013 Sheilah F. Clarke-Ekong, Associate Professor , Department of Anthropology, Sociology and Languages, College of Arts and Sciences

2011-2012  Richard Wright, Professor, Criminology and Criminal Justice, College of Arts and Sciences

Previous Award Winners for Civic Engagement:

2014-2015 W. Howard McAlister, Associate Professor Emeritus, College of Optometry