Skip to main content

UMSL Retirees Association


 

Holiday Luncheon - SAVE THE DATE

The Holiday Luncheon will be held at the Glen Echo Country Club on Wednesday December 13 at 11:30 am.
The cost per person  is $25. RSVP deadline is Dec. 6.   Checks  can be mailed to :

University of Missouri–St. Louis
University Events
60 J.C. Penney Bldg./Conference Center
1 University Boulevard
St. Louis, MO 63121-4400

Questions - 314-516-5442.

FALL FOLIAGE AND WINERY TOUR Thurs. Nov. 2

The Fall Foliage and Winery Tour on November 2 went very well although attendance at 15 was a little disappointing. The group met at  at the Weldon Spring Interpretive Center in St Charles Co. and after refreshments, a brief slide show and a guided tour of the museum, proceeded to the Wine Country.  The group visited Mount Pleasant and Montelle Wineries. After lunch at the latter overlooking the Missouri River and the beautiful countryside, the group headed home at about 3:00 pm.  Some photographs of the event are available here.

Chancellor Emerita Lecture Fri. Sept. 29.

On September 29 in the David Ganz Lecture Theatre in the Anheuser-Busch Business Building, Dr. Blanche Touhill presented a lecture on the First 50 Years of UMSL History to about 30 retirees.  All present enjoyed a most interesting presentation.

Annual Meeting and Spring Luncheon

The Spring Luncheon and Annual Meeting - hosted by Chancellor George and Dr. Harbach - was held Tuesday, June 6 from 11:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. in the JCP Summit Lounge (the event has outgrown the lobby!)   Our guest speaker was Mr. Eric Rosenhauer, Assistant Vice President Human Resources, University of Missouri System.

Also at the meeting the following slate of nominees was elected by acclamation:

President-Elect:  Deborah Kettler
Treasurer:           Steven D. Spaner
Secretary:            Clark Hickman
Board Members: Joseph Martinich, David Ganz and Mark Burkholder




Attention Retirees:

Don't forget to join or rejoin the University of Missouri-St. Louis Retirees Association. The membership year is from June 1 to May 31.

Presentation of the UMSL-RA Membership Card grants the following:

Annual dues are $15. Or, for the most convenient option, join as a lifetime member for just $125.

If you are a new or renewing member, simply fill out and print your membership application (PDF 274KB) and mail with your dues check payable to the UMSL Retirees Association.

In June 2015, at the UMSL-RA annual meeting the membership passed a motion to accord a dues-free first year for new retirees. If you have just retired, fill out and print your membership application, noting on the form “New Retiree”, and mail today!

And, volunteer to serve on a committee - There are three committee choices:

Contact President Chuck Korr to volunteer.
Your help is needed to keep our organization going.




2017-2018 Retirees Association Board

(Updated after the election at the June 6, 2017 luncheon meeting)

OFFICERS

Chuck Korr, President
Department of History
cpkorr@umsl.edu

Deborah Kettler, President-elect
University Placement Services
dkettler@sbcglobal.net

Clark Hickman, Secretary
College of Education
Hickman@umsl.edu

Steven Spaner, Treasurer
College of Education
umslsspaner@gmail.com

Lol Barton, Past President
Chemistry and Biochemistry
lbarton@umsl.edu

MEMBERS

Mark Burkholder
History
burkm@swbell.net

David Ganz
College of Business Administration
ganz@umsl.edu

Hal Harris
Chemistry and Biochemistry
hharris@umsl.edu

Joe Martinich
College of Business Administration
Joseph.Martinich@umsl.edu

Wendell Smith
Continuing Education and Outreach
wsmith@umsl.edu
Zuleyma Tang-Martinez
Biology
zuleyma@umsl.edu

UNIVERSITY LIAISON

Cindy Vantine (ex-officio)
Director, University Events
cindy_vantine@umsl.edu