Common Searches

UMSL Chancellor's Medal

The UMSL community has a wealth of gifted leaders, supporters and learners who generously share their talents each day as we live our mission to transform lives. These individuals possess a laser focused commitment to cultivating students by promoting academic excellence, strong character, sound ethics and fair play. They exemplify our core values of Trust, Access, Innovation, Success, Inclusion and Engagement.

Established in 2024 to recognize the visionary work and efforts of these incredible individuals, the University of Missouri-St. Louis Chancellor’s Medal is awarded to those members of the UMSL community, as well as community friends and supporters who have made a significant contribution to advance the mission and values of the university.

Lori Flanagan, Director of Athletics

Awarded February 9, 2024

Lori Flanagan

Lori Flanagan joined the University of Missouri–St. Louis in 2006 as Associate Director of Athletics after serving as Senior Associate Director of Athletics at Saint Louis University since 1992. She quickly rose to the position of Director of Athletics in 2009 – the fourth AD in UMSL’s history and one of few female ADs in collegiate athletics. Throughout her 18 years at UMSL, Lori has developed UMSL Athletics into one of the nation’s premier NCAA Division II programs.

Under her leadership at UMSL, she reinstated men’s and women’s swimming, and men's cross country, while launching the addition of women’s cross country and men’s and women’s track and field. She garnered necessary investments to build high-quality and competitive athletic facilities and infrastructure – most recently opening the doors to the new Terry and Stan Freerks Student-Athlete Academic Commons.

When presented in 2024, under her tenure as Athletic Director UMSL teams have made 53 NCAA Division II regional appearances and won 13 games in NCAA play. They also have 10 Great Lakes Valley Conference championships and have seen 354 student-athletes earn All-GLVC honors and 1,650 garner academic all-conference recognition.

Learn More