About Us
Pledging Info
Contact Info
Photo Galleries
Alumni Info
Visitor Directions

 History Of the Sigma Alpha chapter

The Sigma Alpha Chapter of Alpha Phi Omega was originally installed on April 16, 1967.  The ritual ceremony was performed at the Epsilon Pi Chapter at Southern Illinois University - Edwardsville.  The first president of the chapter was David Zerrer, who was also president of the student government.  The first female member of the chapter, Elissa Shank, joined in 1976.  In 1984 Sigma Alpha was declared inactive.  On April 21, 2002 Sigma Alpha was rechartered, the ritual was conducted by the Alpha Phi chapter at Washington University.  The president of the chapter upon rechartering was Christy Tayloe.

History of Alpha Phi Omega

Alpha Phi Omega was founded December 16, 1925 at Lafayette College in Easton Pennsylvania.

Filler Image

In founding Alpha Phi Omega, Frank Reed Horton had two goals:

     1)   To Create a "Standard of Manhood" for members that would withstand the test of time.

     2)   To Leave Society with more peaceful ways to settle disputes than war.

Home | About Us | History | Pledging Info | By-Laws | Contact Info | Service | Fellowship | Photo Galleries | Officers | Members | Alumni Info | Visitor Directions | Links

For problems or questions regarding this Web site contact Robert Corder.
Last updated: 12/27/05.

This web site is intended for public viewing and is provided solely for personal reference. It should not be considered an authoritative source nor an official publication of Alpha Phi Omega. Inquiries regarding Alpha Phi Omega and its official publications should be directed to:

Alpha Phi Omega
14901 East 42nd Street
Independence MO 64055-7347

Alpha Phi Omega is a copyrighted, registered trademark in the United States of America. All rights reserved.