For His Navajo Mysteries

2002 Malice Domestic Lifetime Achievement Award

1998 Jack D. Rittenhouse Award of the Rocky Mountain Book Publishers Association. Press release.

1997 Oklahoma Hall of Fame Inductee

1991 Arrell Gibson Lifetime Award of the Oklahoma Center for the Book

1990 National Media Award of the American Anthropological Association

1990 Public Services Award of the Department of the Interior

1989 Mystery Writers of America Grandmaster Award

1987 Special Friends of the Dinee Award by the Navajo Nation

1986 Western Writers of America Spur Award for Skinwalkers

1979 Guest of Honor at BoucherCon Mystery Convention

1974 Edgar Award for Dance Hall of the Dead

For His Memoir

2001 Agatha for Best Non-Fiction Book of the Year for Seldom Disappointed.

See "Links" page for more information.