

presented by Chancellor Kristin Sobolik and

Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs Steven Berberich

Friday, August 25, 2023 10:30 a.m. | Touhill Performing Arts Center

Program in the Anheuser-Busch Performance Hall Lunch Reception to follow in the Terrace Lobby

PROGRAM

Welcome

State of the University Address

Faculty and Staff Awards

Closing Remarks



CELEBRATING 60 YEARS OF TRANSFORMING LIVES

The University of Missouri-St. Louis is celebrating 60 years of transforming lives! Visit umsl.edu/60 or scan the QR code below to learn more about upcoming festivities and ways you can celebrate and get involved throughout this year.

Mark your calendar for these exciting upcoming events:

UMSL Red and Gold Day - September 15

Alma Mater Voting - September 18-28

UMSL Serves - August 21-May 11



RETIREES OF THE YEAR

FACULTY

Beverly Sporleder, LCSW

Associate Clinical Professor Co-Director of Field Placement School of Social Work

STAFF

Yolanda Weathersby Marshall, MEd

Director of Student Support of Enrollment Services/ Welcome Center

Division of Student Affairs

UMSL University of Missouri–St. Louis

2023 CHANCELLOR'S AWARDS FOR EXCELLENCE

COLLABORATIVE RESEARCH AND CREATIVITY

Lindsay Athamanah, PhD

Assistant Professor

UMSL SUCCEED Program

Department of Educator Preparation & Leadership

College of Education

April Regester, PhD

Department Chair & Associate Professor

UMSL SUCCEED Program

Department of Educator Preparation & Leadership

Leadership

College of Education

Magen Rooney-Kron, PhD

Assistant Professor

UMSL SUCCEED Program

Department of Educator Preparation & Leadership

College of Education

Wen Zeng, PhD

Grant and Research Coordinator

UMSL SUCCEED Program College of Education

Jonathan Lidgus

Director

UMSL SUCCEED Program College of Education

Andrew Kliethermes

Assistant Director

UMSL SUCCEED Program College of Education

Chris Worth

Graduate Research Associate

UMSL SUCCEED Program College of Education

RESEARCH AND CREATIVITY

Lee Slocum. PhD

Professor

Department of Criminology/Criminal Justice

College of Arts and Sciences

TEACHING TO A TENURED OR TENURE TRACK FACULTY MEMBER

Kara Moskowitz, PhD

Associate Professor

History Department College of Arts and Sciences

TEACHING TO A NON-TENURE TRACK FACULTY MEMBER

Martille Elias. PhD

Assistant Teaching Professor

Department of Educator Preparation & Leadership

College of Education

SERVICE

Johnna Murray, DBA, CPA

Assistant Teaching Professor

Department of Accounting College of Business Administration

PART-TIME FACULTY MEMBER

Marti Baricevic, PhD

Adjunct Assistant Professor, LPC, NCC

Department of Education Science & Professional Programs
College of Education

ONLINE TEACHING

Karen Boleska, PhD

Director of Sports Management

Department of Education Science and Professional Program College of Education

STAFF EXCELLENCE

Amv Banken

Project Manager

Student Support Services Graduate School

Danielle Faucett

Associate Registrar

Department of Registration and Degree Audit

Sarah Butler, MEd

Testing Center Coordinator

Center for Teaching and Learning

Brian Munoz

Staff Photojournalist and Multimedia Reporter

St. Louis Public Radio

Blake Schliesser

Senior Business Support Specialist

Department of Education Academic Support & Administration College of Education

Monica Farrell

Senior Program Coordinator and Academic

Department of Undergraduate Business Advising

College of Business Administration

CHANCELLOR'S INCLUSIVE EXCELLENCE - CELEBRATING DIVERSITY AWARD

Channon Peoples, EdD

Executive Director

Department of Precollegiate Student Services

THE EMERSON EXCELLENCE IN TEACHING AWARD

Jennifer Fisher, PhD

Associate Teaching Professor

Art & Design

College of Arts and Sciences

GERALD AND DEANNE GITNER EXCELLENCE IN TEACHING AWARD

Magen Roonev-Kron, PhD

Assistant Professor

Department of Educator Preparation & Leadership College of Education

2022 GOVERNOR'S AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE IN TEACHING

Alina Slapac, EdD

Associate Professor

Department of Educator Preparation & Leadership College of Education

2023 GOVERNOR'S AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE IN TEACHING

Kate Votaw. PhD

Associate Teaching Professor *Pierre Laclede Honors College*