Faculty Members

The Department is proud of the quality of its faculty members, language instruction, and the performance of its graduates. To achieve and maintain this quality, the Department has faculty whose members have either native or near-native proficiency and have advanced degrees in the languages they teach.

Sandra Trapani

Chair,  Department of Language and Cultural Studies
Teaching Professor, French
Phone: (314) 516-6247
Office: 558 Clark Hall
trapani@umsl.edu
Tim Abeln

Tim Abeln

Associate Teaching Professor, Spanish
Phone: (314) 516-6243
Office:  544 Clark Hall
abelnt@umsl.edu

Maria Balogh

Maria Teresa Balogh

Teaching Professor, Spanish
Phone: (314) 516-6440
Office: 534 Clark Hall
baloghm@umsl.edu

Martha Caeiro

Teaching Professor, Spanish
Spanish Section Coordinator
Phone: (314) 516-6244
Office: 545 Clark Hall
mcaeiro@umsl.edu

Amy Dagrosa

Amy D'Agrosa 

Associate Teaching Professor, Spanish
Phone: (314) 516-6232
Office: 560 Clark Hall
dagrosaa@umsl.edu

Beth Eckelkamp

Beth Eckelkamp

Teaching Professor Emerita, Japanese
Phone: (314)-516-5396
Office: 426 Woods Hall
beckelkamp@umsl.edu

amy michael

Amy Michael

Associate Teaching Professor, Japanese
Japanese Section Coordinator
Phone: (314) 516-6517
Office: 552 Clark Hall
michaela@umsl.edu

Patrick Moore

Patrick J. Moore

Associate Teaching Professor, English for Academic Purposes and Modern Languages
Phone: (314) 516-6461
Office:  534 Clark
pjm5v7@umsl.edu

Denise Mussman

Teaching Professor, English for Academic Purposes
Phone: (314) 516-5186
Office: 535 Clark Hall
denise@umsl.edu

Birgit Noll

Associate Dean of Students, College of Arts and Sciences 
Teaching Professor, Modern Languages
Phone: (314) 516-6546
Office: 303 Lucas Hall
nollb@umsl.edu

Graziella Postolache

Assistant Teaching Professor, French and Spanish
Phone: (314) 516-5251
Office:  547 Clark 
gpostolache@umsl.edu

Ronald Selinger

Adjunct Professor, American Sign Language
Office: 554 Clark Hall
Phone: (314) 516-6240
rs2dp@umsl.edu
John Trevathan

John Trevathan

Assistant Teaching Professor, Spanish
Phone: 314-516-6240
Office: 544 Clark Hall
trevathanjo@umsl.edu

Keiko Ueda

Keiko Ueda

Associate Teaching Professor, Japanese
Phone: (314) 516-6860
Office:  552 Clark Hall
uedak@umsl.edu

Violaine White

Violaine White

Associate Teaching Professor, French
French Section Coordinator
Phone: (314) 516-6245
Office:  561 Clark Hall
whitevd@umsl.edu
 

Susan Yoder-Kreger

Susan Yoder-Kreger

Teaching Professor Emerita, Spanish
Phone: (314) 516-6461
Office: 548 Clark Hall
yoderkreger@umsl.edu

Hiroko Yoshii

Hiroko Yoshii

Assistant Teaching Professor, Japanese
Phone: (314) 516-6089
Office: 552 Clark Hall

Jeanne Zarucchi

Professor, French and Art History
Office: 503 Lucas Hall
Phone: (314) 516-6575
zarucchi@umsl.edu 

Staff Members

Jim Karslake

Senior Business Support Specialist
Phone: (314) 516-6242
Office : 562 Clark Hall
karslakej@umsl.edu

Phillip Voglewede

Business Support Specialist 1
Phone: (314) 516-6020
Office : 574 Clark Hall
pavcn2@umsl.edu