Minutes of the Meeting of the University of Missouri-St. Louis Faculty Senate September 26, 2023 MSC Century Room A & Zoom meeting

Senate Chair Sanjiv Bhatia called the Faculty Senate meeting to order at 4:10 p.m. following the University Assembly meeting. Dr. Bhatia asked for approval of the Senate minutes from the meeting on April 25, 2023. The minutes were approved as written.

Report of the Chairperson (Dr. Sanjiv Bhatia):

- > Dr. Bhatia reminded Senators that the Senate Snapshot will be e-mailed to them the Fridays after each Senate meeting. He asked them to please share the Snapshot with their colleagues to keep them informed of what is happening in the Senate.
- ➤ Dr. Bhatia explained that the Promotion of NTT Faculty Committee met a few weeks ago to elect a chair. The committee decided to meet in November to follow up on some topics from last year's committee. The committee would like to have feedback on the NTT promotion process. If any NTT faculty have any input regarding the NTT promotion process, please send their feedback to Committee Chair Theresa Coble.
- ➤ Dr. Bhatia announced that junior faculty who would like to submit a research proposal for travel grants should submit them to ORA by Oct. 13.
- > Dr. Bhatia invited Dr. Alice Hall to brief the Senate about listening sessions on September 28 regarding promotion policies and procedures review. Dr. Hall provided details about the sessions. The sessions are open to all faculty and focused on promotion from Associate to Full Professor.

Dr. Bhatia noted that Chancellor Sobolik did not have any additional information to report to the Faculty Senate.

Committee on Committees Report (Dr. Amber Candela):

Dr. Candela presented the following nominations as replacements for committee members:

- ➤ Research and Libraries Committee
 Michael Gearhart is willing to serve as the Social Work representative as the replacement
 for Florian Sichling for the last year of his term.
- ➤ Research Fall Panel
 Andrea Hupman is willing to serve as the Business representative as the replacement for Seemantini Pathak for the last year of her term.
- ➤ Faculty Teaching & Service Awards Committee
 Patrick Stark is willing to serve as the Optometry representative as the replacement for
 Brittany Wright for the last year of her term.

Administrator Evaluation Committee
Michael Behle has resigned from the committee. The Senate Operating Rules calls for "at least" five faculty members on this committee. Since Michael was the sixth member, an additional member was not necessary.

The Faculty Senate unanimously approved all the nominations.

Intercampus Faculty Cabinet (IFC) Report (Dr. Jon McGinnis):

The IFC met on August 14-15 and discussed the following:

- > Overview of IFC and Expectations
- ➤ Updates and discussions from various UM leaders, including Marsha Fisher, Chief Human Resources Officer, Ryan Rapp, Chief Financial Officer, and Benjamin Canlas, UM Interim Vice President for Information Technology
- Met with Curators Wenneker and Sinquefield, and President Choi
- For more details, minutes of the meeting can be found at: https://www.umsystem.edu/ums/aa/faculty/ifc-minutes.

Curriculum and Instruction Committee Report (Mr. Michael Allison):

Mr. Allison presented the following curriculum proposal for the Senate's review:

➤ Computer Science Administrative Information

The Faculty Senate unanimously approved the proposal.

Dr. Bhatia asked if there was any other business for the Faculty Senate. Hearing none, Dr. Bhatia dismissed everyone but the Faculty Senators for the Executive Session.

Executive Session:

The Faculty Senate discussed two honorary degree nominations. Both nominations were approved by the Senate.

Dr. Bhatia announced that the Faculty Senate's Executive Assistant, Loy Harvey, is leaving the Senate to take another position on campus. He thanked her for her 14 years of work in the Senate Office. The Senators applauded Loy's service by a standing ovation.

Dr. Bhatia thanked everyone for attending and adjourned the meeting at 5:00 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Pamela Stuerke Senate/Assembly Secretary

(Minutes written by Loyola Harvey, Faculty Senate/University Assembly Office)