Dr. Alice Hall, 2019-2020 Senate/Assembly Chair

The Faculty Senate of the University of Missouri-St. Louis (UMSL) represents the faculty in relation to the issues and topics delegated to it in the University's Collected Rules and Regulations. It is made up of about 40 faculty members who are elected by their academic departments or colleges. The University Assembly includes student and staff representatives and administrators, in addition to the members of the Faculty Senate. The two bodies collectively represent the interests of the faculty, students, and staff of the University of Missouri-St. Louis -- a premier urban research university. Both the Senate and Assembly advise the Chancellor and other senior administrators as well as the UMSL faculty as a whole on questions of UMSL policy.  They also initiate recommendations concerning changes in UMSL policy for consideration and appropriate action by the Chancellor or the faculty.  The Senate meets four times each semester and the Assembly meets at least twice.

UMSL has a variety of resources to help it address both the challenges and opportunities that it will face in the coming year. It has a talented and dedicated faculty. Many are leading researchers or creators in their respective fields. They are innovative and knowledgeable teachers, who work hard to provide students the skills and knowledge they need to build meaningful, rewarding lives and careers. It has a committed staff that plays a vital role in the university's missions of education, research, and outreach, as well as one of the largest and most vibrant alumni networks in the region.  Its hard-working current students will be vital to the future of the city and the region.

I look forward to serving as Chair of the Faculty Senate and University Assembly in 2019-2020. I will work hard to forward the goals of the faculty, staff, and students of the University of Missouri-St. Louis and support the University in service to St. Louis and the State of Missouri. If you have questions about the University Assembly or Faculty Senate, please contact us via


Alice Hall, Associate Professor
Chair, Faculty Senate and University Assembly