Student Planner 2013-2014

The UMSL Campus Community


The University of Missouri System is a statewide, multi-campus (Columbia, Kansas City, Rolla, and St. Louis) Institution, led by President Timothy M. Wolfe and governed by the Board of Curators

The academic structure of the St. Louis campus, founded in 1963, is detailed below:

Chancellor Thomas George
Provost & Vice Chancellor
for Academic Affairs
Glen Hahn Cope
Vice Chancellors James Krueger Managerial & Technological Services
  Martin Leifeld University Advancement
Vice Provosts Nasser Arshadi Research
  Curtis Coonrod Student Affairs & Dean of Students
Deans Ron Yasbin College of Arts & Science
  Michael T. Elliott (Interim) College of Business Administration
  Wm. Thomas Walker School of Professional & Continuing Studies
  Carole Basile College of Education
  Jean M.K. Miller College of Fine Arts & Communication
  Judith Walker de Felix Graduate School
  Susan Dean-Baar College of Nursing
  Larry J. Davis College of Optometry
  Robert M. Bliss Pierre Laclede Honors College
  Joseph O’Sullivan UMSL/WU Joint Engineering Program



As a student, it is important not only to know your major, your classmates, and your instructors, but also to be aware of the larger structure and your place in it. As any community, UMSL has a unique identity, culture, and “language.” Take time to become familiar with terminology, rules, processes, and the campus environment. Communities are more fun when you know your way around. Get involved! Be an active member of this major research institution, the largest university serving St. Louisans and the third largest in the state.