Student Planner 2013-2014

Faculty Senate & University Assembly


Phone: (314) 516-6769
Address: 507 Tower 
Web Address:

The two principal governing bodies of the University of Missouri-St. Louis campus are the Faculty Senate and the University Assembly. Membership on the Faculty Senate is restricted to faculty and several high-ranking administrators. The University Assembly, on the other hand, is comprised of up to 13 students, 39 faculty senators elected by their eligible voting colleagues, 3 staff members elected by the Staff Association, and a number of campus administrators, who serve as ex officio, non-voting members.

Each spring semester qualified student candidates for the Assembly are elected without regard to college, division, or department affiliation. Student members of the Assembly serve a term of one year, beginning on August 1. If they continue to qualify, student members may be re-elected.

To qualify for service on the University Assembly, a student must be enrolled in good standing, must not be on disciplinary probation, must have a cumulative grade point average calculated by the University of Missouri-St Louis to be at least 2.0, and must have completed a minimum of nine hours of academic credit at the University of Missouri-St. Louis. Qualified students who are interested in becoming Assembly members are to declare their candidacy to the Office of Student Life by March 1 of each year. The Vice Provost for Student Affairs (or designee) shall verify that the candidates satisfy all requirements for service on the Assembly, and registered students will elect their Assembly representatives from the pool of eligible candidates. Only eligible students who file their candidacy in advance may be elected; write-in votes will not be counted.

Student members are included on a number of committees of the Faculty Senate and University Assembly. Check the Senate/Assembly web site or call Mrs. Loy Harvey at ext. 6769 for more information.