Skip to main content

Reading Schedule





March 14th: Amina Gautier Ph.D at Gallery 210, 7:00 pm.

The Natural Bridge Debute Writers Series welcomes Amina Gautier Ph.D. Amina is the author of three award-winning short story collections: The Loss of All Lost Things, which won the Elixir Press Award in Fiction  and received the Chicago Public Library’s 21st Century Award, Now We Will Be Happy, which won the Prairie Schooner Book Prize, the USA Best Book Award in African American Fiction,  the International Book Award, a Silver IPPY Award in Multicultural Fiction, a Florida Authors and Publishers Association Award Gold Medal in Short Fiction, and was Long-listed for The Chautauqua Prize in Fiction, and At-Risk, which won the Flannery O’Connor Award for Short Fiction, and received an Eric Hoffer Legacy Award and a First Horizon Award. Gautier has published a record number of short stories. More than eighty-five of her short stories have been published and her fiction appears in African American ReviewAfrican Voices, Agni, Antioch Review, B&A: New Fiction, Cicada, Chattahoochee Review, Colorado Review, Crab Orchard Review, Crazyhorse, Glimmer Train, Iconoclast, Iowa Review, Kenyon Review, Nimrod, North American Review, Notre Dame Review,, Pindeldyboz, Pleiades, Prairie Schooner, Quarter After Eight, Red Rock Review, River Styx, Salt Hill, Shenandoah, Southeast Review, Southern Review, Southwest Review, Storyquarterly, Studio Magazine, Sycamore Review, Timber Creek Review, Today’s Black Woman, Torch, and Yemassee among other places. Gautier’s work has been extensively reprinted, appearing in All About Skin! Women Writers of Color, Best African American Fiction 2009, Best African American Fiction 2010, Discoveries: New Writing from The Iowa Review, New Stories from the South: The Year’s Best, 2008, The Notre Dame Review: The First Ten Years, The Sincerest Form of Flattery: Contemporary Women Writers on Forerunners in Fiction, 25 Provocative Women Writers and Voices.


April 16: UMSL MFA Alumni Ron Austin and Michael Nye at Gallery 210, 12:15 pm.

Ron A. Austin has served as an editor for december and River Styx, and is a 2016 Regional Arts Commission Fellow. His stories have been placed in Ninth Letter, Story Quarterly, Black Warrior Review, The Masters Review, Midwestern Gothic, and other journals. He has taught creative writing at the Pierre Laclede Honors College, and he is now finishing his collection of stories, Avery Colt Is A Snake, A Thief, A Liar. He, his partner Jennie, and son Elijah live in St. Louis with a whippet named Carmen. 

Michael Nye is the author of the story collection STRATEGIES AGAINST EXTINCTION (Queen’s Ferry Press, 2012) and the novel ALL THE CASTLES BURNED, forthcoming from Turner Publishing in February 2018. His fiction and nonfiction have appeared in American Literary Review, Boulevard, Cincinnati Review, Crab Orchard Review, EpochKenyon ReviewNew South, Normal SchoolSou’wester, and South Dakota Review, among many others. His work has been a finalist for the Katherine Anne Porter Prize in fiction and nominated for the Pushcart Prize. He lives with his wife in Columbus, Ohio.



April 18th: Donika Kelly at Gallery 210, 7:00 pm.

The Natural Bridge Debut Writers Series welcomes Donika Kelly. Donika is the author of BESTIARY (Graywolf 2016), winner of the 2015 Cave Canem Poetry Prize and the 2017 Hurston/Wright Legacy Award for Poetry, long listed for the National Book Award (2016), and a finalist for a Lambda Literary Award (2017), and the chapbook AVIARIUM (500 Places 2017). Donika is a Cave Canem Graduate Fellow, a finalist for the 2018 Kate Tufts Discovery Prize, and recipient of a fellowship to the Fine Arts Work Center. She received her MFA in Writing from the Michener Center for Writers and a Ph.D. in English from Vanderbilt University.  She is an Assistant Professor at St. Bonaventure University, where she teaches creative writing.


Past Readings

Matthew Pitt, Rachel Hall, Robin Beth Schaer, Rion Amilcar Scott, Alexander Weinstein, Jaimee Wriston Colbert, John Domini, Leslie Pietryzk, Anne Sanow, Melissa Range, Whitney Terrell, Roger ReevesChinelo Okparanta, Susan Perabo, Anne Shaw, Joshua Mehigan, Lex Williford, Rick Skwiot, Dale Ray Phillips, Kevin Wilson, Eric Puchner, Ann Patchett, Deborah Eisenberg, Elizabeth Strout, Ocean Vuong, Anthony Marra, Trudy Lewis, Katie Reigel, Gladys Swan, Phong Nguyen, Robert Stewart, Walter Bargen, Christie Hodgens, Phyllis Moore, Stephanie Powell Watts, Ira Sukrungraung, Jason Sommer, Adrian Matejka, Allison Funk, Allsion Joseph, Don Finkel, Erin McGraw, Beth Lowery, Gary Geddes, Rodney Jones, Adam Hayward, Michael Nye, Kelli Allen, Jennifer Tappenden, Sally Van Doren, Walter Bargen, William Trowbridge, Stacy Tintocalus, Andrew Atlschul, Joy Katz and many more.