Skip to main content

Reading Schedule

Upcoming

Friday October 27, 2017

NATURAL BRIDGE PRESENTS: Alexander Weinstein (followed by an open mic session)

Alexander Weinstein will be reading at Left Bank Books in the Central West End on October 27th at 7:00 pm. Alexander is the Director of The Martha’s Vineyard Institute of Creative Writing and the author of the short story collection Children of the New World (Picador 2016) which was chosen as one of the best books of the year by The New York Times, NPR, Google, Electric Literature, and was featured by Entertainment Weekly as a Must-Read Book of 2016. Barbara Seaman, in her Booklist review, calls Weinstein’s book “Mind-blowing…In the vein of George Saunders, Rick Bass, and Alex Shakar, Weinstein writes with unfailing sensitivity and supercharged imagination, creating nuanced stories harboring a molten core of astutely satirical inquiries.” Alexander Weinstein’s fiction and interviews have appeared in Rolling Stone, The Atlantic, The Boston Globe, World Literature Today, Best American Science Fiction & Fantasy 2017, and Best American Experimental Writing 2017. He is a recipient of a Sustainable Arts Foundation Award, and his fiction has been awarded the Lamar York, Gail Crump, Hamlin Garland, and New Millennium Prizes. He is an Associate Professor of Creative Writing at Siena Heights University.

Past Readings

Matthew Pitt, Rachel Hall, Robin Beth Schaer, Rion Amilcar Scott, Alexander Weinstein, Jaimee Wriston Colbert, John Domini, Leslie Pietryzk, Anne Sanow, Melissa Range, Whitney Terrell, Roger ReevesChinelo Okparanta, Susan Perabo, Anne Shaw, Joshua Mehigan, Lex Williford, Rick Skwiot, Dale Ray Phillips, Kevin Wilson, Eric Puchner, Ann Patchett, Deborah Eisenberg, Elizabeth Strout, Ocean Vuong, Anthony Marra, Trudy Lewis, Katie Reigel, Gladys Swan, Phong Nguyen, Robert Stewart, Walter Bargen, Christie Hodgens, Phyllis Moore, Stephanie Powell Watts, Ira Sukrungraung, Jason Sommer, Adrian Matejka, Allison Funk, Allsion Joseph, Don Finkel, Erin McGraw, Beth Lowery, Gary Geddes, Rodney Jones, Adam Hayward, Michael Nye, Kelli Allen, Jennifer Tappenden, Sally Van Doren, Walter Bargen, William Trowbridge, Stacy Tintocalus, Andrew Atlschul, Joy Katz and many more.