Skip to main content

2016 Missouri Primary

Candidates for the Primary Election August 2, 2016

This is a list of major party women candidates who have filed for federal and statewide office and seats for the Missouri General Assembly. Information and results for this table are taken from the unofficial election results on the Missouri Secretary of State's website.

All candidates and parties are listed in ballot order. Bolded names indicate incumbents.

Last updated: 11/10/2016

When quoting from this page, please cite your source as:
The Sue Shear Institute for Women in Public Life

Federal and Statewide

Maria Chppelle-Nadal

St. Louis US Rep District 1 D Lost

Ann Wagner

Ballwin US Rep District 2 R Won

Cynthia Lynn Davis

O'Fallon US Rep District 3 R Lost

Doanita Simmons

St. Peters US Rep District 3 C Won

Vicky Hartzler

Harrisonville US Rep District 4 R Won

Roberta Gough

Lees Summitt US Rep District 5 D Lost

Genevieve (Gen) Williams

Neosho US Rep District 7 D Won
Camille Lombardi-Olive Galena US Rep District 7 D Lost
Mary Byrne Springfield US Rep District 7 R Lost

0/6 Statewide offices = 0%
2014  National average of women in statewide offices =

State Senate
Jamilah Nasheed St. Louis MO Sen - 5 D  Won
Jeanne Bojarski Kansas City MO Sen - 7 L Won
Shalonn (Kiki) Curls Kansas City MO Sen - 9 D Won
Jessica (Jess) Podhola Independence MO Sen - 11 D Lost
Mary Catherine DiCarlo Independence MO Sen - 11 D Lost
Gina Walsh St. Louis MO Sen - 13 D Won
Anne Zerr St. Charles MO Sen - 23 R Lost
Lora Young Harrisonville MO Sen - 31 L Won
Currently: 5/34 State Senators: 14.7% D=5 / R=0
2014 National average of women in the State Senate: 20.8%
State Representative
Sandy Van Wagner Smithville MO Rep-12 D Won
Mary Hill Liberty MO Rep  17 R Won
Lauren Arthur North Kansas City MO Rep-18 D Won
Ingrid Burnett Kansas City MO Rep-19 D Won
Vicki Riley Independence MO Rep-21 R Won
Judy Morgan Kansas City MO Rep-24 D Won
Gail McCann Beatty Kansas City MO Rep-26 D Won
Bonnaye V. Mims Kansas City MO Rep-27 D Lost
Diane Krizek Raytown MO REp-28 D Lost
Sheila Solon Blue Springs MO Rep-31 R Lost
Jeanie Lauer Blue Springs MO Rep-32 R Won
Donna Pfautsch Harrisonville MO Rep-33 R Won
Rebecca Roeber Lees Summit MO Rep -34 R Won
Cheri Toalson Reisch


MO Rep-44 R Won
Cathy D Richards


MO Rep-46 D Lost
Martha Stevens


MO Rep-46 D Won
Susan McClintic


MO Rep-47 D Won
Ashley Beard-Fosnow


MO Rep-55 D Won
Wanda Brown Lincoln MO Rep-57 R Won
Liz Gattra Wentzville MO Rep-63 D Won
Marlene Terry St. Louis MO Rep-66 D Lost
Shelia R Thompson Florissant MO Rep-67 D Lost
Gretchen Bangert Florissant MO Rep-69 D Won
Sue Meredith St. Louis MO Rep-71 D Won
Mary Nichols Maryland Heights MO Rep-72 D Won
Eileen Grant McGeoghegan St. Ann MO Rep-73 D Lost
Cora Faith Walker St. Louis MO Rep-74 D Won
Teona McGhaw-Boure St. Louis MO Rep-75 D Lost
Donna M.C. Baringer St. Louis MO Rep-82 D Won
Gina Mitten St. Louis MO Rep-83 D Won
Karla May St. Louis MO Rep-84 D Won
Stacey Newman St. Louis MO Rep-87 D Won
Tracy McCreery St. Louis MO Rep-88 D Won
Deb Lavender St. Louis MO Rep-90 D Won
Sarah Unsicker St. Louis MO Rep-91 D Won
Genise Montecillo St. Louis MO Rep-92 D Won
Vicki Lorenz Englund St. Louis MO Rep-94 D Won
Cloria Brown St. Louis MO Rep-94 R Won
Marsha Haefner St. Louis MO Rep-95 R Won
Nancy Craig Fenton MO Rep-98 D Won
Jean Evans Manchester MO Rep-99 R Won
Joy B Krieger Ellisville MO Rep-101 R Lost
Anne Gassel Ellisville MO Rep-101 R Lost
Noreen McCann Chesterfield MO Rep-101 R Won
Marguerite Dillworth St. Charles MO Rep-103 D Won
Peggy Sherwin St. Peters MO Rep-104 D Won
Kathie Conway St. Charles MO Rep-104 R Won
Chrissy Sommer St. Charles MO Rep-106 R Won
Mary West St. Charles MO Rep-106 R Lost
Tammy Orzel House Springs MO Rep-111 R Lost
Karen Settlemoir-Berg Imperial MO Rep-113 D Won
Becky Ruth Festus MO Rep-114 R Won
Barbara Stocker De Soto MO Rep-115 D Won
Elaine Freeman Gannon De Soto MO Rep-115 R Won
Diane Franklin Camdenton MO Rep-123 R Won
Patricia Pike Butler MO Rep-126 R Won
Sandy Crawford Buffalo MO Rep-129 R Won
Ella Jane Goeppinger Springfield MO Rep-130 D Won
Sonya Anderson Springfield MO Rep-131 R Won
Crystal Quade Springfield MO Rep-132 D Won
Angela Dowler Pryor Springfield MO Rep-134 D Won
Hannah Kelly Mountain Grove MO Rep-141 R Won
Victoria (Tori) Proffer Fredericktown MO Rep-145 C Won
Donna Lichtenegger Jackson MO Rep-146 R Won
Kathy Swan Cape Girardeau MO Rep-147 R Won
Holly Rehder Sikeston MO Rep-148 R Won
Lena Samford Steele MO Rep-150 D Won
Tila Hubrecht Dexter MO Rep-151 R Won

Currently: 38/163 State Representatives: 23.3% D=19/ R=19
2014 National average of women in the House: 25.4%

Current total of women in the General Assembly, 47/197 = 21.8%
2014 National average of women in the General Assembly = 24.2%

If you have any corrections, questions, or comments, please email:

Established in 1998 by the Missouri Legislature and the Board of Curators for the University of Missouri, the Sue Shear Institute for Women in Public Life is a non-partisan, educational entity. Programs of the Institute are open to participants regardless of race, color, religion, sex, sexual orientation, national origin, age, disability, and status as a military veteran.