Skip to main content

2010 Primary

Candidates for the Primary Election August 3, 2010

This is a list of women candidates who have filed for federal and statewide office and seats for the Missouri General Assembly. Information for this table is taken from the unofficial candidate filing list on the Missouri Secretary of State's website.

All candidates and parties are listed in ballot order. Incumbents are listed in bold.

Last updated: 08/4/2010

When quoting from this page, please cite your source as:
The Sue Shear Institute for Women in Public Life

Federal and Statewide
Robin Carnahan St. Louis U.S. Sen D Won
Kristi Nichols Kansas City U.S. Sen R Lost
Deborah Solomon Independence U.S. Sen R Lost
Cisse Spragins Riverside U.S. Sen L Lost
Susan Montee Jefferson City Auditor D Won
Candice (Britt) Britton St. Louis U.S. Rep-1 D Lost
Robyn Hamlin St. Louis U.S. Rep-1 R Won
Julie Stone St. Louis U.S. Rep-1 L Won
Vicky Hartzler Harrisonville U.S. Rep-4 R Won
JoAnn Emerson Cape Girardeau U.S. Rep-8 R Won

Currently: 1/2 U.S. Senators = 50% D=1 
1/9 U. S. Representatives = 11% R=1

2/6 Statewide offices = 33.3% D=2 
2008 National average of women in statewide offices = 23.2%.

State Senate
Cynthia Davis O Fallon MO Sen-2 R Lost
Jolie Justus Kansas City MO Sen-10 D Won
Maria Chappelle-Nadal St. Louis MO Sen-14 D Won
Barbara Fraser St. Louis MO Sen-24 D Won
Helen Steele Burton St. Louis MO Sen-24 D Lost
Currently: 8/34 State Senators = 23.5% D=5 / R=3
2008 National average of women in the State Senate = 21.7%.
State Representative
Keri Cottrell Canton MO Rep-1 D Won
Rebecca McClanahan Kirksville MO Rep-2 D Won
Judy Wright Turney MO Rep-5 D Won
Linda Witte Vandalia MO Rep-10 D Won
Vickie Boedeker Wentzville MO Rep-13 D Won
Kathie Conway St. Charles MO Rep-14 R Won
Sally Faith St. Charles MO Rep-15 R Won
Debbie Bixler St. Charles MO Rep-16 D Lost
Vicki Schneider O Fallon MO Rep-17 R Won
Anne Zerr St. Charles MO Rep-18 R Won
Jeanie Riddle Mokane MO Rep-20 R Won
Kelly Schultz Columbia MO Rep-21 D Won
Laura Nauser Columbia MO Rep-24 R Won
Mary Wynn Still Columbia MO Rep-25 D Won
Lexi Norris Kansas City MO Rep-30 D Won
Barbara Lanning Lawson MO Rep-36 D Won
Debbie Colozza Kansas City MO Rep-38 D Won
Jean Peters-Baker Kansas City MO Rep-39 D Won
Shalonn (Kiki) Curls Kansas City MO Rep-41 D Won
Kim Douglass Kansas City MO Rep-43 D Lost
Gail McCann Beatty Kansas City MO Rep-43 D Won
Sarah (Sally) Miller Kansas City MO Rep-44 R Won
Nola Wood Kansas City MO Rep-45 R Won
Annalisa Zapien-Pina Lees Summit MO Rep-47 R Lost
Pam Osgood Lees Summit MO Rep-48 R Lost
Chyanne Lockhart Cardarella Independence MO Rep-52 D Lost
Diane Egger Independence MO Rep-53 D Won
Anna Lynn Vogel Inependence MO Rep-53 R Lost
Jeanie Lauer Blue Springs MO Rep-54 R Won
Sheila Solon Blue Springs MO Rep-55 R Won
Karla May St. Louis MO Rep-57 D Won
Hope Whitehead St. Louis MO Rep-57 D Lost
Penny Hubbard St. Louis MO Rep-58 D Won
Jeannette Mott Oxford St. Louis MO Rep-59 D Won
Jamilah Nasheed St. Louis MO Rep-60 D Won
Nita Jane Ayres Reeds Springs MO Rep-62 R Lost
Tishaura O. Jones St. Louis MO Rep-63 D Won
Amy Hilgemann St. Louis MO Rep-64 D Lost
Susan Carlson St. Louis MO Rep-64 D Won
Patricia Verde St. Louis MO Rep-64 R Won
Michelle Kratky St. Louis MO Rep-65 D Won
Genise Montecillo St. Louis MO Rep-66 D Won
Ann Terry Johnson St. Louis MO Rep-69 D Lost
Sharon L. Pace St. Louis MO Rep-70 D Won
Sandi B Colquitt St. Louis MO Rep=72 D Lost
Stacey Newman St. Loius MO Rep-73 D Won
C M Spreng Florissant MO Rep-76 D Won
Eileen Grant McGeoghegan St. Ann MO Rep-77 D Won
Linda Ragsdale St. Ann MO Rep-77 R Won
Margo McNeil St. Louis MO Rep-78 D Won
Mary Nichols Maryland Heights MO Rep-79 D Won
Teona McGhaw-Boure' St. Louis MO Rep-80 D Lost
Gloria Hardrict-Ewing Florissant MO Rep-80 D Lost
Rochelle Walton Gray Black Jack MO Rep-81 D Won
Jill Schupp St. Louis MO Rep-82 D Won
Vicki Lorenz Englund St. Loius MO Rep-85 D Won
Cloria Brown St. Louis MO Rep-85 R Won
Jeanie Kirkton Webster Groves MO Rep-91 D Won
Sue Allen St. Louis MO Rep-92 R Won
Deb Lavender St. Louis MO Rep-93 D Won
Alice Geary Sgroi St. Louis MO Rep-96 D Won
Jan Polizzi St. Louis MO Rep-97 D Won
Mary Jo Straatmann St. Louis MO Rep-98 D Won
Janet Sutherland Warrenton MO Rep-99 R Lost
Marsha Ellen Haefner St. Louis MO Rep-100 R Won
Linda R. Fisher Bonne Terre MO Rep-107 D Won
Cindy McGee Washington MO Rep-109 R Lost
Carrie Cabral Potosi MO Rep-110 R Won
Edith Vogel Jefferson City MO Rep-114 R Lost
Janine Elizabeth Steck Jefferson City MO Rep-114 L Won
Wanda Brown Lincoln MO Rep-116 R Won
Jeanie Lachner Prairie Home MO Rep-117 R Lost
Sandy Crawford Buffalo MO Rep-119 R Won
Courtney Cole Warrensburg MO Rep-121 D Won
Patricia Johnson Raymore MO Rep-123 D Won
Shelly Dreyer Joplin MO Rep-129 R Lost
Lynn Otey Neosho MO Rep-130 R Lost
Sue Entlicher Bolivar MO Rep-133 R Won
Melissa Leach Springfield MO Rep-137 R Won
Sara Lampe Springfield MO Rep-138 D Won
Tracy Mooney Branson MO Rep-143 R Lost
Kathleen Hensley Willow Springs MO Rep-151 R Lost
Diane Franklin Camdenton MO Rep-155 R Won
Shelley (White) Keeney Marble Hill MO Rep-156 R Won
Donna Lichtenegger Jackson MO Rep-157 R Won
Jennifer Allie Friedrich St. Mary MO Rep-157 C Won
Debra Tracy Cape Girardeau MO Rep-158 R Lost
Ellen Brandom Sikeston MO Rep-160 R Won
Currently: 36/163 State Representatives = 22% D=26/ R=10
2008 National average of women in the House = 24.5%
Current total of women in the General Assembly, 44/197 = 22.3%
2008 National average of women in the General Assembly = 23.6%