Skip to main content

How to Apply

Group Chamber 
Nine Missouri public universities participate in the Leadership Academy by selecting students to attend each year.  They are:

University of Missouri - St Louis (UMSL)
•University of Missouri - Kansas City (UMKC)
•University of Missouri - Columbia (MU)
•Missouri University of Science & Technology
•Truman State University 
•Lincoln University
•Missouri State University
•Southeast Missouri State University
•University of Central Missouri  

You must be a student at one of these Universities in order to apply.  (Note: Many New Leadership programs accept students from their state who are attending college elsewhere.  If you are a Missouri college student from outside of Missouri, be sure to check the New Leadership Development Network (NLDN) website to see if you are eligible for a program in your state.)

While there is an emphasis on public policy and civic engagement at the Leadership Academy, students from all majors are encouraged to apply.  Shear Fellows from all academic disciplines benefit and build leadership skills that are applicable to their chosen field.  Program faculty come from a variety of backgrounds, including law, business, public service, engineering, education, the non-profit sector, healthcare, criminal justice, real estate and more.

All students selected to participate as Shear Fellows are expected to attend all 21st Century Leadership Academy sessions and live in the housing provided during the entire program, May 20-25, 2018.

UMSL Application
2018 21st Century Leadership Academy UMSL application 

21st Century Leadership Academy Home  Leadership Academy FAQs 
Leadership Academy Schools • How to Apply • Past Shear Fellows
Nancy Siteman Fellows' Fund
  Fellows Legacy Circle  Leadership Academy Brochure