Sue Shear Institute for Women in Public Life

Fellows Legacy Circle



Are you a proud 21st Century Leadership Academy Alumna?

Join the Fellows Legacy Circle.

For 16 years, the Institute has worked to make the Academy available at no cost to Fellows, so that participation is conditioned on merit and not means.  Sponsoring universities pay a fraction (less than half) of the $525 per student cost for the week; The Institute fundraises to cover the shortfall, turning to friends and supporters who believe in the power of future women leaders to make the world a better place.  By becoming a member of the Circle, you will enjoy the satisfaction of knowing that your gift is helping to make the Leadership Academy possible for another woman leader. 

Can you contribute $300 to cover the cost of room and board for one Fellow all week?  Your $125 gift will provide lodging at Oak Hall and priceless late night chats with new friends (and even the Faculty in Residence, in her PJs).   

A donation of $60 will provide lunch for a Fellow all week, including the once-in-a-lifetime lunch at the Governor’s Mansion.

Fellows who contribute more than $100 or more annually to the Sue Shear Institute are recognized as members of the Fellows Legacy Circle Cabinet.

Meet 2014 Fellows Legacy Circle Cabinet Members:

2014:       Co-Chairs:  Natalie Lorenz ('08, Southeast Missouri State University) and Suzanne Struglinski Broadfield ('98, University of Missouri - Columbia), 2008 Amethyst Award
Brandy Barker. ('02, Missouri State University)
                Suzanne Struglinski Broadfield ('98, University of Missouri - Columbia), 2008 Amethyst Award
                Stephanie Clark ('06, Lincoln University)
                Marcia Chatelain, Ph.D. ('99, University of Missouri - Columbia), 2009 Amethyst Award
                Marjorie Cole ('99, University of Missouri - St. Louis)
                Natalie Lorenz ('08, Southeast Missouri State University)
                Lauren Ryan ('07,  University of Missouri - Columbia)
                Kelly Newsome ('04, University of Missouri - Kansas City), 2010 Amethyst Award
                Lauren Palmer ('99,  University of Missouri - Columbia)
                Jessica Post  ('01,  Truman State University)
                Allison (Howard) Zupon, M.D. ('04, University of Missouri - Columbia), 2006 Amethyst Award

How do I join the Fellows Legacy Circle? Joining is simple, just click here.

If you have any questions about the Fellows Legacy Circle, please contact Michelle Landers-Ochsner at (314) 516-4727 or


21st Century Leadership Academy Home  Leadership Academy FAQs 
Leadership Academy Schools • How to Apply • Past Shear Fellows
The Amethyst Award 
• Nancy Siteman Fellows' Fund • Support the Academy
  Fellows Legacy Circle  21st Century Leadership Academy Advisory Committee
Leadership Academy Brochure