Sue Shear Institute for Women in Public Life

Amethyst Award


The Amethyst Award is made possible by a generous gift from an Institute supporter who wanted to recognize the next generation of women leaders. 

The Award is given to a Shear Fellow who has inspired others by applying skills and knowledge gained at the 21st Century Leadership Academy.  The Amethyst Award winner will inspire others by either: 
1.) overcoming great personal odds 
2.) emerging as a strong voice in her chosen field or 
3.) raising awareness of an important issue to a new level.

The recipient will be selected by a committee and will receive an unrestricted cash award of $1,000. The award will be presented at the Academy’s keynote dinner. Only graduates of the 21st Century Leadership Academy are eligible for this award.


Meet past Amethyst Award Winners:


2005:       Kelly Anthony
                Shear Fellow 1999
                Truman State University

2006:       Allison Howard
                Shear Fellow 2004
                University of Missouri-Columbia

2007:       Chyanne Lockhart Cardarella         
                Shear Fellow 2003
                University of Central Missouri

2008:       Suzanne Struglinski Broadfield
                Shear Fellow 1998
                University of Missouri-Columbia

2009:       Marcia Chatelain 
                Shear Fellow 1999
                University of Missouri-Columbia

2010:       Kelly Newsome McNichols
                Shear Fellow 2004
                University of Missouri-Kansas City

2011:       Carolyn Chrisman
                Shear Fellow 2001
                Truman State University

2012:      Churie Spreng
               Shear Fellow 2009
               University of Missouri - St. Louis

2013:      Antionette Carroll
               Shear Fellow 2007
               University of Missouri - St. Louis

21st Century Leadership Academy Home  Leadership Academy FAQs 
Leadership Academy Schools • How to Apply • Past Shear Fellows
The Amethyst Award 
• Nancy Siteman Fellows' Fund • Support the Academy
  Fellows Legacy Circle  21st Century Leadership Academy Advisory Committee
Leadership Academy Brochure