Skip to main content

Faculty Bylaws of the University of Missouri-St. Louis

The Faculty Bylaws of the University of Missouri-St. Louis

The existing bylaws were substantially amended and approved by the Board of Curators on May 27, 1999. Minor revisions have been made since that time and are a regular feature of faculty governance.

The Faculty Senate: UMSL adheres to the higher education tradition of governance that is shared by the faculty, administration, staff, and students. The Faculty Senate is the campus body responsible for formal faculty participation in university governance. The Chair of the Faculty Senate is elected by the voting members of the Senate and automatically serves as Chair of the University Assembly. The faculty's duties as the body responsible for curriculum and instruction is vested in the Senate, which reviews all curricular proposals and changes brought forward from department faculties through the colleges and schools. Through the Appointments, Tenure, and Promotion Committee (ATP), which reviews tenure and promotion cases and recommends tenure and promotion standards to the Chancellor, the Senate plays a central role in protecting and shaping the academic strength and character of the university. Only faculty with .75 to 1.0 FTE appointments may be elected to the Senate. The Senate conducts its business through a structure of committees that set their agendas in consultation with the Senate Chair, the Chancellor, the vice chancellors and deans, and the faculty. Committees bring action items to the Senate floor through the Steering Committee, which sets the agenda for all Senate and University Assembly meetings.

Membership in the Senate is extended to all regular faculty and all faculty on non-regular appointment who have at least 50% teaching or research responsibilities per year and who, regardless of rank within the title category, have any of the following titles: adjunct professor, affiliate professor, visiting professor, clinical professor, research professor, lecturer, instructor, or specialist.

Committees of the Faculty Senate

The University Assembly: The Assembly is the body where elected staff, faculty, students, and senior administrative officers come together to discuss and recommend University Policy. The Budget and Planning Committee, chaired by the Chancellor and a committee of the University Assembly, is the body responsible for advising the Chancellor on budgetary and program planning policy and decisions. Like the Senate, Assembly business is enacted through the agendas of committees, which in turn bring action items forward to the Assembly floor through the Steering Committee.

Committees of the University Assembly