Office of Academic Affairs Header

Governor’s Award for Excellence in Teaching

Recipient will be recognized at a luncheon hosted by the Governor during the Governor's Conference on Higher Education in December and will receive a certificate of accomplishment.

Nominee must be a current, full-time, regular or non-regular, faculty member with at least five years teaching service at UMSL.

Nominees must show evidence consistent with the priorities and goals outlined in the UMSL Strategic Plan, demonstrating effective teaching and commitment to high standards of excellence, and one or more of the following:

  • Effective advising
  • Student learning and success
  • Service to the University community

Submission Materials and Format:
All nominations (regardless of format) must include the following materials.

  • Cover page with name, position, academic address of nominee and nominator, and a checklist of included documents
  • Nomination letter
  • Curriculum vitae
  • Nominee’s philosophy of teaching statement, explicitly outlining teaching goals, teaching strategies and methods of bringing one's current research, scholarship, or creative activity into the teaching process. Statement should not exceed three (3) double-spaced pages.
  • Evidence supporting nomination criteria as above
  • List of courses taught by the nominee
  • Representative syllabi (2) from the nominee’s courses.
  • A summary of course evaluations (qualitative and quantitative data)
  • Minimum of six (6) and not more than ten (10) letters of support from students, alumni, colleagues, administrators and community leaders. Include at least one letter from a colleague invited to observe in the faculty member’s classes.

Nomination Procedure:
The Senate Faculty Teaching and Service Awards Committee receives and reviews all nominations. and presents its recommendation to the chancellor for final approval. The Committee requires submission through electronic format. These nominations should be a single file in MS Word or pdf format, and should be emailed to the Senate office ( no later than 5 pm on the deadline.

Deadline for Submission:
April 4, 2011 at 5 p.m. is the deadline for submission of nomination and completed materials packet.

Previous Award Winners:
2010-2011 Sonya Bahar, Associate Professor, Department of Physics and Astronomy, College of Arts and Sciences

2009-2010 James Henry, Associate Professor, Department of Music, College of Fine Arts and Communication

2008-2009 Virginia Navarro, Associate Professor, Division of Teaching and Learning, Co-Director, Career Transition Certification Program, College of Education

2007 - 2008 Judith Maserang, Clinical Professor, Nursing

2006-2007 Gregory Geisler, Associate Professor, Accounting, College of Business Administration

2005 - 2006 Elizabeth Vining, Senior Lecturer, Marketing

2004 - 2005 Paul Paese, Associate Professor, Psychology

2003 - 2004 Helene Sherman, Associate Professor, Teaching and Learning

2002 - 2003 Janet Lauritsen, Professor, Criminology and Criminal Justice

2001 - 2002 David Robertson, Professor, Political Science

2000 - 2001 Richard Pacelle, Associate Professor, Political Science

1999 - 2000 Rudolph E. K. Winter, Associate Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry

1998 - 1999 Bob Henson, Professor, Physics and Astronomy

1991 - 1992 Charles R. Granger, Professor, Biology and Education