



Information For

Deans Chairs Faculty Students



Information About

Academic Integrity **Academic Positions** Accreditation (Institutional) Assessment **Award Programs** Commencement **Environmental Scan Faculty Council** Faculty Development General Education Program Intellectual Pluralism **Promotion and Tenure** Strategic Advantages **Undergraduate Certificates Undergraduate Emphasis** Areas **Undergraduate Minors**



Resources

Academic Calendars Academic Hiring Forms Academic Policies Business Policies Collected Rules/Regulations Faculty Handbook



Provost Areas

Who Does What Provost's Staff Schools and Colleges Other Reporting Units Committees





A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Contact Us | FAQs | Home | Printer-Friendly Page

C. Brice Ratchford Memorial Fellowship

(Intercampus Competition)

Purpose

The C. Brice Ratchford Memorial Fellowship Award is established to recognize a University of Missouri faculty member who demonstrates commitment, dedication, and effectiveness in advancing the land-grant mission through extension, international education, and agricultural economics programs. The fellowship is presented to a faculty member who personifies the creativity, vision, and leadership exhibited by the late Dr. C. Brice Ratchford, President Emeritus of the University of Missouri and Dean of Cooperative Extension. The annual award is funded from a permanent endowment created with contributions from the Ratchford family and from numerous colleagues, friends and organizations in recognition of Dr. Ratchford's memory.

Award

The award is in the amount of \$5,000, less applicable taxes.

Eligibility

The nominee must be faculty member with the University of Missouri. Nominations may be submitted for any University of Missouri faculty member, based on or off-campus, active or emeritus, whose accomplishments exemplify Dr. Ratchford's commitment to advancing the land-grant mission through extension, international education or agricultural economics programs. Nominations may be made by any member of the University community.

Nominations

Nominations must include biographical information about the nominee and a clear indication of the relationship between the nominee's work and Dr. Ratchford's commitment to the land-grant mission. Candidates for this award represent the highest standards of performance in one of the following fields: extension, international education or agricultural economics. A maximum of 10 current supporting letters may be included.

Selection

The Ratchford Fellow is named by the Board of Curators based upon a recommendation by the President. The President is advised by a panel, which includes representatives from the UM campuses and off-campus faculty and Missouri citizens. The panel is chaired by the MU Vice Provost for Extension and Director of Cooperative Extension. The C. Brice Ratchford Memorial Fellowship is presented at a meeting of the Board of Curators.

Submissions

Deadline: March 1 (or closest business day)

Nominations and supporting materials (10 copies) must be submitted to:

Office of the Vice Provost for Extension 108 Whitten Hall (573) 882-7477

Recipients of the C. Brice Ratchford Memorial Fellowship Award 2008 George J. McCall, Professor Emeritus, Sociology, UMSL 2007 E. Terrence (Terry) Jones, Professor of Political Science and Public Policy Administration, UMSL 2006 Don Day, MU Extension Natural Resource Engineer & Co-County Program Director, Boone County, UMC 2005 Bette A. Loiselle, Associate Professor of Biology and Director for the International Center of Tropical Ecology, UMSL 2004 Gerald Hitzhusen, Professor of Parks, Recreation and Tourism, UMC 2003 Kay Gasen, Urban Program Leader, UMSL

2002 Glen Easter, Northwest Regional Director, University of Missouri Extension

2001 Cassy Dierking Venters, Evaluation Coordinator, Business Development Program, MU Extension

2000 Michael L. Cook, Professor of Agricultural Economics, UMC

1999 Daryl Hobbs, Retired Director, Office of Social and Economic Data Analysis, MU Extension/Professor Emeritus, Rural Sociology, UMC



Copyright © 2004 The Curators of the University of Missouri