	POLITICS & HISTORY
An Organized Section of the American Political Science Association	
SYLLABI ARCHIVE	Award Recipients, Nomination and Committee
HISTORY SECTION	<u>Members</u>
OFFICERS & AWARDEES	J. David Greenstone Awards and Committees: 2007 Award to: Istvan Hont, Jealousy of Trade: International Competition and the
CLIO NEWSLETTER	Nation-State in Historical Perspective (Harvard University Press, 2005). Honorable Mention to Marie Gottschalk, <i>The Prison and the Gallows: The Politics of Mass Incarceration in America</i> (Cambridge University Press)
IMPORTANT DATES	Istvan Hont, Jealousy of Trade: International Competition and the Nation-State in Historical Perspective (Harvard University Press)
ARCHIVES	Stathis Kalyvas, <i>The Logic of Violence in Civil War</i> (Cambridge University Press) Nancy Maclean, (Northwestern University) <i>Freedom is Not Enough: The Opening of</i> <i>the American Workplace</i> (Harvard University Press)
CONTACT US	Hendrik Spruyt, (Northwestern University) Ending Empire: Contested Sovereignty and Territorial Partition (Cornell University Press) Committee: Jeff Tulis (Chair), Alyson Cole, Ellen Immergut
LINKS	2006 Award to: Suzanne Mettler, Soldiers to Citizens: The G.I. Bill and the Making of the Greatest Generation (Oxford University Press, 2005) and and Ken I. Kersch, Constructing Civil Liberties: Discontinuities in the Development of American Constitutional Law (Cambridge University Press, 2004). Committee: Carol Nackenoff (chair), Peter Trubowitz, R. Shep Melnick.
	2005 Award to: Richard M. Valelly, <i>The Two Reconstructions: The Struggle for</i> <i>Black Enfranchisement</i> (University of Chicago Press, 2004) Honorable Mention to: Kathleen Thelen, <i>How Institutions Evolve:</i> <i>The Political Economy of Skills in Germany, Britain, the United States, and Japan</i> (Cambridge University Press, 2004) Committee: Howard Gillman (chair), Alberta Sbragia, Eric Schickler
	<u>2004 Award</u> to: Theda Skocpol for <i>Diminished Democracy: From Membership to</i> <i>Management in American Civic Life</i> (University of Oklahoma Press, 2003), and S.M. Amadae, <i>Rationalizing Capitalist Democracy: The Cold War Origins of</i> <i>Rational Choice Liberalism</i> (University of Chicago Press, 2003) Committee: Richard Harris (chair), Scott James, Alison Stanger
	2003 Award to: Mounira Charrad for States and Women's Rights: The Making of Post-Colonial Tunisia, Algeria and Morocco (University of California Press, 2002) and to Taeku Lee, Mobilizing Public Opinion: Black Insurgency and Racial Attitudes in the Civil Rights Era (Chicago University Press, 2002) Committee: Sven Steinmo (chair), Gerald Berk, Sheri Berman
	2002 Award to: Richard Franklin Bensel, <i>The Political Economy of American</i> Industrialization, 1877-1900 Committee: David Vogel, Andrew Polsky, Kimberly Morgan
	2001 Award to: Uday Singh Mehta, Liberalism and Empire: A Study in Nineteenth- Century British Liberal Thought Committee: Victoria Hattam, Gretchen Ritter, Gary Herrigel
	2000 Award to: Elizabeth Sanders, <i>Farmers, Workers, and the American State,</i> 1877-1917 Committee: Suzanne Mettler, Rogan Kersh, and Anne Norton
	<u>1999 Award</u> to: Peter Trubowitz, <i>Defining the National Interest: Conflict and</i>

Change in American Foreign Policy Committee: Sid Milkis, David Vogel, Jennifer Hochschild

<u>1998 Award</u> to: Rogers Smith, *Civic Ideals*, and Mabel Berezin, *Making the Fascist Self* Committee: James Morone, Gwendolyn Mink, Lawrence Jacobs

<u>1997 Award</u> to: Stathis Kalyvas, *The Rise of Christian Democracy in Europe* Committee: Deborah Stone, Ian Lustick, Andrew Polsky, Hendrick Spruyt

<u>1996 Award</u> to: Hendrick Spruyt, *The Sovereign State and Its Competitors* Committee: Richard Bensel, Jeffrey Tulis, Larry Dodd

<u>1995 Award</u> to: Ian Lustick, *Unsettled States, Disputed Lands*, and Gerald Berk *Alternative Tracks* Committee: David Vogel, Amy Bridges, Andrew Polsky

<u>1994 Award</u> to: Stephen Skowronek, *The Politics Presidents Make* Committee: Elizabeth Sanders, John Coleman, Kenneth Finegold

<u>1993 Award</u> to: Theda Skocpol, *Protecting Soldiers and Mothers* and Karen Orren, *Belated Feudalism* Committee: Andrei Markovits, Anne Norton, Robert Shapiro

Mary Parker Follett Awards and Committees

2007 Award to: Fredrick Harris of Columbia University for "It Takes a Tragedy to Arouse Them: Collective Memory and Collective Action During the Civil Rights Movement," *Social Movement Studies* 5 (May 2006) and Cora Goldstein, "Before the CIA: American Actions in the German Fine Arts (1946-1949)," *Diplomatic History* 29 (November 2005). Committee: Robert Vitalis (Chair), Catherine Holland, Nancy Wadsworth.

2006 Award to: David Brian Robertson, "Madison's Opponents and Constitutional Design," *American Political Science Review* 99 (May 2005)> Committee: Peter Swenson (Chair), Gretchen Ritter, Adam Sheingate.

<u>2005 Award</u> to: Peter A. Swenson, "Varieties of Capitalist Interests: Power, Institutions, and the Regulatory Welfare State in the United States and Sweden," *Studies in American Political Development* 18 (Spring 2004). Committee: Sarah Binder, Herman Schwartz, Mabel Berezin

<u>2004 Award</u> to: Paul Frymer, "Acting When Elected Officials Won't: Federal Courts and Civil Rights Enforcement in U.S. Labor Unions, 1935-85," *American Political Science Review* (August 2003) Committee: Gerard Alexander (chair), Keith Whittington, Rose Resakhian

<u>2003 Award</u> to: Daniel J. Tichenor and Richard A. Harris for "Organized Interests and American Political Development," *Political Science Quarterly* 117:4, 2002-2003 Committee: John Gerring (chair), Consuelo Cruz, Howard Reiter

<u>2002 Award</u> to: "Causal Inference in Historical Institutional Analysis: A Specification of Periodization Strategies" *Comparative Political Studies* 34: 9 (November, 2001) Committee: Christopher Howard, Char Miller, Marcus Kreuzer

2001 Award to: Jeffrey Jenkins, "Examining the Robustness of Ideological Voting: Evidence from the Confederate House of Representatives" *American Journal of Political Science* (44:8) Committee: Charles Stewart, Anna Harvey, Keith Whittington.

2000 Award to: Eileen McDonagh, "Race, Class, and Gender in the Progressive Era: Restructuring State and Society" and to Frank Dobbin and Erin Kelly, "Civil Rights Law at Work: Sex Discrimination and the Rise of Maternity Leave Policies" Committee: Marie Gottschalk, Mabel Berezin, Daniel Tichenor

<u>1999 Award</u> to: Barry Weingast, "Political Stability and Civil War: Institutions, Commitment, and Democracy" Committee: Rick Valelly, Martin Shefter, Ronald Rogowski

<u>1998 Award</u> to: Sarah Hanley, "Social Sites of Political Practice in France" Committee: David Plotke, Gretchen Ritter, Gerald Gamm

<u>1997 Award</u> to: Hugh Heclo, "The Sixties' False Dawn" Committee: Sid Milkis, John Coleman, Daniel Carpenter

<u>1996 Award</u> to: Daniel H. Deudney, "The Philadelphia System" Committee: Richard Ellis, Mark Graber, Helene Silverberg

<u>1995 Award</u> to: David Laitin, Carlotta Solé, and Stathis Kalyvas "Language and the Construction of States" Committee: Victoria Hattam, John Padgett, Margaret Weir

<u>1994 Award</u> to: Richard Vallely, "Party, Coercion, and Inclusion" and Charles Stewart III and Barry Weingast, "Stacking the Senate, Changing the Nation" Committee: Eileen McDonagh, Carol Nackenoff, Bartholomew Sparrow

Page updated 4/02/08

APSA H-NET