This Award recognizes and honors outstanding academic, humanitarian, or professional service.  There are two types of award:

  1. The Campus Service Award recognizes faculty for distinguished service on our campus.  Nominees will have made exceptional contributions to achieving one or more goals of the university, while embodying the values of the university.
  2. The Civic Engagement Award recognizes faculty for distinguished service to the community beyond the boundaries of the University.


Up to two award plaques and one honorarium of $1,000 (to be split between the winners if there are two winners) are presented at the Chancellor's State of the University Address in the fall semester.



Nominees must be tenured, full-time, faculty with seven or more years of service at UMSL.



Nominees must show evidence consistent with the priorities and goals outlined in the UMSL Strategic Plan, demonstrating:

Submission Materials and Format:

All nominations must include the following materials.

Winning nominations will become public information and shared with the campus community. Candidates and nominators demonstrate their agreement to allow the packets to become public through the submission process. (The letters of support and the candidate's C.V. are exempt from this public disclosure.)

Nomination Procedure:

The Senate Faculty Teaching and Service Awards Committee receives and reviews all nominations. and presents its recommendation to the chancellor for final approval. The Committee requires submission through electronic format. These nominations should be a single file in MS Word or pdf format, and should be emailed to the Senate office (senate@umsl.edu) no later than 5 pm on the deadline.


Deadline for Submission:

April 3, 2015 at 5 p.m. is the deadline for submission of nomination and completed materials packet.

Previous Award Winners:

2013-2014 Richard B. Rosenfeld, Curators' Professor, Department of Criminology and Criminal Justice, College of Arts and Sciences

2012-2013 Sheilah F. Clarke-Ekong, Associate Professor , Department of Anthropology, Sociology and Languages, College of Arts and Sciences

2011-2012  Richard Wright, Professor, Criminology and Criminal Justice, College of Arts and Sciences

2009-2010 Timothy Farmer, Associate Professor of Accounting, College of Business Administration

2008-2009 Keith Stine, Professor of Chemistry, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, College of Arts and Sciences

2008 - 2009 Mark Pope, Professor, Professor of Counseling, Division of Counseling and Family Therapy, College of Education

2007 - 2008 Jody Miller, Associate Professor, Criminology and Criminal Justice

2006 - 2007 Jeanne Morgan Zarucchi, Professor, French and Art History

2005 - 2006 Van A. Reidhead, Associate Professor, Anthropology

2004 - 2005 David Curry, Professor, Criminology and Criminal Justice

2003 - 2004 R. Rocco Cottone, Professor, Counseling and Family Therapy

2002 - 2003 Lois Pierce, Professor, Social Work

2001 - 2002 John Hylton, Professor, Music

2000 - 2001 Lol Barton, Professor, Chemistry

1999 - 2000 Joel Glassman, Associate Professor, Political Science

1998 - 1999 Gwendolyn Turner, Associate Professor, Teaching and Learning

1997 - 1998 Mark Burkholder, Professor, History

1996 - 1997 Joseph Martinich, Professor, Management Science and Information Systems

1995 - 1996 Donald Phares, Professor, Economics

1994 - 1995 David Ganz, Assistant Professor, Accounting

1993 - 1994 Lawrence Friedman, Associate Professor, Biology

1992 - 1993 James Doyle, Professor, Philosophy

1991 - 1992 Ruth Jenkins, Associate Professor, Nursing

1990 - 1991 Charles Korr, Professor, History

1989 - 1990 Edwin Fedder, Professor, Political Science

1988 - 1989 Vicki Sauter, Associate Professor, Management Science and Information Systems