Skip to main content

Faculty in the UMSL Department of Biology:

  • Aimee Dunlap, Professor — Evolution of cognition, animal behavior
  • Robert Marquis, Professor Emeritus — Community Ecology, plant-herbivore interactions, tropical ecology
  • Nathan Muchhala, Professor — Plant-pollinator interactions
  • Patricia G. Parker, Desmond Lee Professor of Zoological Studies — Evolutionary Ecology and Disease Ecology of wildlife
  • Robert E. Ricklefs, Professor Emeritus — Evolutionary ecology and biogeography
  • Peter F. Stevens, Professor Emeritus — Plant systematics, history of plant classification
  • Zuleyma Tang-Martinez, Professor Emeritus — Behavioral ecology
Associated Faculty from our partner institutions:
  • Ishan Al-Shehbaz, Ph.D., Curator and Head of the Department of Asian Botany, Missouri Botanical Garden — Systematics and phylogeny of the mustard family Brassicaceae (Cruciferae). E-mail: ihsan.al-shehbaz@mobot.org 
  • Matthew A. Albrecht, Ph.D., Associate Scientist, Center for Conservation and Sustainable Development, Missouri Botanical Garden — Conservation Biology, Restoration and Reintroduction Ecology, Seed Ecology, Climate Change, Ex situ Conservation. E-mail: matthew.albrecht@mobot.org 
  • Jeffrey Bonner, Ph.D., President and CEO, Saint Louis Zoo — E-mail: bonner@stlzoo.org
  • Stanton Braude, Ph.D., Lecturer in Biology, Washington University — Evolution of social behavior in naked mole-rats in Kenya, conservation genetics of endangered African rhinoceros populations, steroid mediated immunoredistribution and enhanced wound healing, evolution of domestic dogs. E-mail: braude@biology2.wustl.edu 
  • Rainer Bussmann, Ph.D., Head and William L. Brown Curator of Economic Botany, William. L. Brown Center, Missouri Botanical Garden — Ethnobotany and ethnopharmacology; medicinal plants, neglected crops, wild crop relatives and traditional crop varieties; seed and germination ecology. E-mail: rainer.bussmann@mobot.org 
  • Thomas B. Croat, Ph.D., P.A. Schulze Curator of Botany, Missouri Botanical Garden — Systematics and ecology of Neotropical Araceae. E-mail: thomas.croat@mobot.org 
  • Marshall R. Crosby, Ph.D., Senior Botanist, Missouri Botanical Garden — Systematics of tropical and temperate mosses. E-mail: marshall.crosby@mobot.org 
  • Sharon Deem, DVM, Ph.D., Veterinary Epidemiologist, Saint Louis Zoo — E-mail: deem@stlzoo.org 
  • Christine E. Edwards, Ph.D., Assistant Scientist, Center for Conservation and Sustainable Development, Missouri Botanical Garden — Conservation genetics of rare plants; quantitative genetics of functional plant traits. E-mail: christine.edwards@mobot.org 
  • Roy E. Gereau, Assistant Curator, Africa and Madagascar Department, Director of Tanzania Botanical Research and Conservation Programme, Missouri Botanical Garden — Floristics and phytogeography of eastern Africa, systematics of Ancistrocladaceae; taxonomy and systematics of African Sapindaceae, systematics of Sapindales and clarification of family circumscriptions. E-mail: roy.gereau@mobot.org 
  • Peter Goldblatt, B.A. Ph.D., Senior Curator and B. A. Krukoff Curator of African Botany, Missouri Botanical Garden — Systematics and ecology of Iridaceae; Cape flora. E-mail: peter.goldblatt@mobot.org 
  • Michael H. Grayum, Ph.D., Curator, Missouri Botanical Garden — Systematics of Araceae; Flora of Costa Rica. E-mail: michael.grayum@mobot.org 
  • Peter C. Hoch, Ph.D., Curator, Missouri Botanical Garden — Systematics and evolution of Onagraceae. E-mail: peter.hoch@mobot.org 
  • Ivan Jimenez, Ph.D., Assistant Curator, Center for Conservation and Sustainable Development, Missouri Botanical Garden — GIS mapping, abundance and distribution of organisms at spatial scales from the small extents on which foraging theory focuses to the broad geographic extents characteristic of macroecology. E-mail: ivan.jimenez@mobot.org 
  • Peter Moller Jorgensen, Ph.D., Curator, Missouri Botanical Garden — Neotropical floristics and conservation; Passifloraceae, Olacaceae and Santalaceae; catalogue of Bolivian vascular plants. E-mail: peter.jorgensen@mobot.org 
  • Elizabeth A. Kellogg, Ph.D., Danforth Plant Science Center and the Missouri Botanical Garden — Evolution of plant development; systematics of the grass family; evolution of genes and genomes. E-mail: ekellogg@danforthcenter.org 
  • Quinn Long, Ph.D., Director, Shaw Nature Reserve, Missouri Botanical Garden — Restoration ecology, fire ecology, rare plant conservation, invasive species, seed addition, grasslands, woodlands. E-mail: quinn.long@mobot.org 
  • Porter P. Lowry, Ph.D., Curator and Head of the Africa and Madagascar Department, Missouri Botanical Garden — Systematics of Araliaceae; flora and vegetation of Madagascar; flora and vegetation of New Caledonia. E-mail: Pete.Lowry@mobot.org 
  • Robert Magill, Ph.D., Curator and Vice-President of Research, Missouri Botanical Garden — Bryophyte systematics, evolution and biogeography, with an emphasis on mosses of Africa. E-mail: bob.magill@mobot.org 
  • Robert J. Marquis, Ph.D., Professor, Biology, UM-St. Louis — Evolutionary ecology, plant-herbivore interactions, tropical ecology. E-mail: robert_marquis@umsl.edu 
  • Eric Miller, DVM, Senior Vice-President for Zoological Operations, Director of WildCare Institute, Saint Louis Zoo — E-mail: REMiller@stlzoo.org 
  • James Miller, Ph.D., Senior Vice-President, Science and Conservation, Missouri Botanical Garden — Enthobotany and economic botany, particularly of Africa, Boraginales. E-mail: james.miller@mobot.org 
  • Olga Martha Montiel, Vice-President, Center for Conservation and Sustainable Development, Missouri Botanical Garden — Plant conservation and capacity building. E-mail: olgamartha.montiel@mobot.org 
  • David A. Neill, Ph.D., Curator, Missouri Botanical Garden — Flora of Ecuador; Fabaceae of the Neotropics; quantitative inventories of tropical forests (permanent plots). E-mail: david.neill@mobot.org 
  • Patricia G. Parker, Ph.D., E. Desmond Lee Professor of Zoological Studies, Biology, UM-St. Louis and Senior Scientist, Saint Louis Zoo — Evolutionary ecology of wildlife and their parasites and pathogens. E-mail: pparker@umsl.edu 
  • David Powell, Ph.D., Director of Research & Director, AZA Reproductive Management Center, Saint Louis Zoo — Animal behavior such as social dominance, reproductive competition, and mating systems; as well as applied topcis such as animal welfare, animal husbandry, and studies of human behavior. E-mail: dpowell@stlzoo.org 
  • Peter H. Raven, Ph.D., Emeritus President, Missouri Botanical Garden — Systematics and evolution of Onagraceae, conservation, sustainable development, plant geography. E-mail: peter.raven@mobot.org 
  • J. Leighton Reid, Ph.D., Assistant Scientist (Restoration Ecology), Center for Conservation and Sustainable Development, Missouri Botanical Garden — restoration ecology, tropical plant ecology.  E-mail: leighton.reid@mobot.org 
  • Robert E. Ricklefs, Ph.D., Curators Professor, Biology, UM-St. Louis — Evolutionary ecology; avian life-histories; avian demography, including aging; avian malaria; host-parasite interaction; island biogeography; phylogenetics; community ecology; historical ecology. E-mail: ricklefs@umsl.edu 
  • David B. Robertson, Ph.D., Professor of Political Science, UM-St. Louis — American national politics and policy, political history, political economy, labor, and environmental policy. E-mail: daverobertson@umsl.edu 
  • Jan Salick, Ph.D., Senior Curator, William L. Brown Center, Missouri Botanical Garden — Climate change ecology and ethnobotany. E-mail: jan.salick@mbot.org 
  • George E. Schatz, Ph.D., Curator, Missouri Botanical Garden — Systematics of Annonaceae; flora and vegetation of Madagascar; plant conservation assessment. E-mail: george.schatz@mobot.org 
  • Adam Smith, Ph.D., Assistant Scientist in Global Change, Center for Conservation and Sustainable Development, Missouri Botanical Garden — modeling global climate change, limits on species range. E-mail: adam@earthskysea.org 
  • Peter F. Stevens, Ph.D., Professor Emeritus of Biology, UM-St. Louis — Systematics of flowering plants, especially those in the Old World Tropics. E-mail: peter.stevens@mobot.org 
  • Zuleyma Tang-Martinez, Ph.D., Professor Emeritus of Biology, UM-St. Louis — Chemical communication and social behavior of mammals. E-mail: zuleyma@umsl.edu 
  • Charlotte M. Taylor, Ph.D., Curator, Missouri Botanical Garden — Floristics of Neotropical Rubiaceae. E-mail: charlotte.taylor@mobot.org 
  • J. Sebastian Tello, Ph.D., Assistant Scientist, Center for Conservation and Sustainable Development, Missouri Botanical Garden — Biodiversity, macroecology, metacommunities, spatial ecology, null models, computer simulation models. E-mail: sebastian.tello@mobot.org 
  • M. Carmen Ulloa, Ph.D., Curator, Missouri Botanical Garden — Andean Flora (phytogeography, floristics); Neotropical Berberidaceae, Andean Melastomataceae. E-mail: carmen.ulloa@mobot.org  
  • Henk van der Werff, Ph.D., Curator and Assistant Director of Research, Missouri Botanical Garden — Neotropical Lauraceae; Lauraceae worldwide; Flora of the Galapagos Islands. E-mail: henk.vanderwerff@mobot.org 
  • Peter Wyse Jackson, Ph.D., President, Missouri Botanical Garden — Plant conservation, botanic gardens and endangered island flora conservation. E-mail: peter.wysejackson@mobot.org 
  • James L. Zarucchi, Ph.D., Associate Curator and Editor of the Flora of China Checklist, Missouri Botanical Garden — Systematics of Fabaceae and Apocynaceae. E-mail: james.zarucchi@mobot.org