This scholarship is given in memory of Noel Mahr, an accounting faculty member who died in the Spring of 1980 at the age of 33.


  • Recipients shall be members of a group that is recognized as historically disadvantaged in the United States of America
  • Recipients shall be enrolled in a graduate level accounting program which may include an emphasis in Auditing/Systems.
  • Recipients shall have completed undergraduate work as required to qualify for the graduate program and shall have accumulated an undergraduate grade point average of 3.25 or above on a 4.0 scale
  • Recipients shall qualify for renewal of the award provided they have maintained a graduate grade point average of 3.25 or above in the accounting program.

Year 2013 recipient is Alisha Barnum

Previous Recipients

Year Recipient
1990 Jehmor C. Johnson
1995 Kevin B. Howard
2002 Kitina A. Rice
Tony Young
John Yu
2003 Catrese J. Hill
2004 Kourtney Villars
2005 Han-Tse Li
2006 Bertha Carlson
2007 Jecinta Karaya
2008 Genene W. Semayat
2010 John-Paul Knobloch
2011 Carri Frye
2012 Carri Frye