Skip to main content

Contact Us

Faculty Members

The Department is proud of the quality of its faculty members, language instruction, and the performance of its graduates. To achieve and maintain this quality, the Department has faculty whose members have either native or near-native proficiency and have advanced degrees in the languages they teach.

Birgit Noll

Chair, Department of Language and Cultural Studies

Teaching Professor in Modern Languages

Phone: (314) 516-6546

Office: 558 Clark Hall

nollb@umsl.edu


Laura Al-Albani

Adjunct Instructor, Arabic

Phone: (314) 516-6861

Office: 529 Clark Hall

elhagechehadel@umsl.edu


Tim Abeln

Tim Abeln

Assistant Teaching Professor, Spanish

Phone: (314) 516-6243

Office:  544 Clark Hall

abelnt@umsl.edu

Debbie Baldini

Deborah Baldini

Associate Dean, College of Arts and Sciences

Teaching Professor, Spanish

Phone: (314) 516-5911

Office: 552 Clark Hall

baldinid@umsl.edu

Maria Balogh

Maria Teresa Balogh

Associate Teaching Professor, Spanish

Phone: (314) 516-6440

Office: 534 Clark Hall

baloghm@umsl.edu


Rosa Brefeld 

Coordinator of English for Academic Purposes

Associate Teaching Professor, EAP

Phone: (314) 516-6089

Office:  536 Clark Hall

brefeldr@umsl.edu



Martha Caeiro

Spanish Section Coordinator

Teaching Professor, Spanish

Phone: (314) 516-6244

Office: 545 Clark Hall

mcaeiro@umsl.edu


Amy Dagrosa

Amy D'Agrosa 

Assistant Teaching Professor, Spanish

Extension:  (314) 516-6232

Office: 560 Clark Hall

dagrosaa@umsl.edu


Eckelamp

Beth Eckelkamp

Associate Dean, College of Arts and Sciences

Teaching Professor, Japanese

Phone: (314) 516-5501

Office: 303 Lucas Hall

beckelkamp@umsl.edu

Sue Hendrickson

Suzanne Hendrickson 

Associate Teaching Professor, French

Phone: (314) 516-6866

Office: 532 Clark Hall

hendricksonr@umsl.edu


Carol Jenkins

Carol Jenkins

Assistant Teaching Professor, German

Phone: (314) 516-6715

Office:  572 Clark Hall

jenkinsca@umsl.edu


Yan Li

Yan Li

Assistant Teaching Professor, Chinese and Spanish

liyq@umsl.edu (Email only)


Nancy Mayer

Associate Teaching Professor, EAP

Phone: (314) 516-5182

Office: 546 Clark Hall

nmayer@umsl.edu


Amy Michael

Amy Michael

Japanese Section Coordinator

Assistant Teaching Professor, Japanese

Phone: (314) 516-6517

Office: 552 Clark Hall

michaela@umsl.edu


Denise Mussman

Teaching Professor, EAP

Phone: (314) 516-5186

Office: 535 Clark Hall

denise@umsl.edu


Margaret Phillips

Margaret Phillips

Adjunct Instructor, Latin

Phone: (314) 516-6864

Office: 532 Clark Hall

mphillips@umsl.edu


Natasha César Suárez

Natasha César-Suárez

Assistant Teaching Professor, Spanish

Phone: 314-516-6240

Office: 547 Clark Hall

cesarsuarezn@umsl.edu

 


Sandra Trapani

French Section Coordinator

Teaching Professor, French

Phone: (314) 516-6247

Office: 549 Clark Hall

trapani@umsl.edu

 


John Trevathan

John Trevathan

Assistant Teaching Professor, Spanish

Phone: 314-516-6240

Office: 544 Clark Hall

trevathanjo@umsl.edu


Keiko Ueda

Keiko Ueda

Assistant Teaching Professor, Japanese

Phone: (314) 516-6860

Office:  552 Clark Hall

uedak@umsl.edu


Violaine White

Violaine White

Assistant Teaching Professor, French

Phone: (314) 516-6245

Office:  561 Clark Hall

whitevd@umsl.edu

 

Susan Yoder-Kreger

Susan Yoder-Kreger

Teaching Professor, Spanish

Phone: (314) 516-6461

Office: 548 Clark Hall

yoderkreger@umsl.edu

Jeanne Zarucchi

Professor, French and Art History

Office: 503 Lucas Hall

Phone: (314) 516-6575

zarucchi@umsl.edu



Staff Members


Karslake, Jim

Business Support Specialist II

Phone: (314) 516-6242

Office : 554 Clark Hall

jkarslake@umsl.edu



Seipel, Tiffany

Office Support Staff III

Phone: (314) 516-6020

Office : 574 Clark Hall

seipelt@umsl.edu


Department of Language and Cultural Studies
Clark Hall 554 
University of Missouri-St. Louis 
1 University Blvd.
St. Louis, MO 63121 
Phone: 314-516-6240

LinkedIn Group