The College of Arts and Sciences is the largest and oldest academic division of the University of Missouri-St. Louis. Its 14 departments, School of Social Work, and Institute for Women and Gender Studies are located throughout the University campus. We have 273 full-time faculty and offer 26 separate baccalaureate, 16 master, and 7 doctoral degrees as well as 10 graduate certificates. Each semester the College offers approximately 1000 courses both undergraduate and graduate. In addition, we provide day, evening and online courses.

Our location within a major metropolitan area has made it possible for the college to form many learning partnerships with local corporations, cultural centers and civic organizations. These relationships enhance the academic opportunities of our students.

During Fall semester 2009, our student body consisted of over 4,000 undergraduates and 821 graduate students. The broad-based, liberal arts education that we provide helps form new generations of productive citizens with the intellectual maturity to understand the issues of today and to make informed judgments.