Career Advice 101 | Professional Development Series | Employer and Career Events | Job Fairs | Career Week



Spring 2015 Career Advice 101

No Registration Necessary for Career Advice 101
All Sessions are held in 278 MSC, Career Services from 2:00pm-2:30pm

Interviewing with the Stars
Monday April 6
Wednesday April 22
The competition is fierce! With practice, you can wow your interviewer with your interviewing techniques. Learn the basics of behavioral interviewing and methods of effectively answering behavioral interview questions.

Don’t be a “Deer in Headlights”
Monday March 2
Tuesday March 31
Has an interview question ever caught you by surprise? Interviewing is a skill you can improve with practice. Discover answers to common interview questions.

Getting Started: Navigating your Job Search
Tuesday February 24
Monday April 20
What do you need to be aware of as you begin a job search?  Let us help you get started!

How do you keep the Momentum Going?
Monday March 16
Tuesday April 28 
Bring your suggestions about keeping your job search momentum going. We’ll talk through exploring careers and strategies of a job search.

Is That Your Best Offer?
Wednesday April 8
Thursday April 30
Employers often request a desired salary range during the application process.  We’ll discuss how to research appropriate salary levels and review negotiation strategies.

Do Your Homework: Before Your Interview
Thursday February 26
Answering questions is just one part of the interview process. What do you wear? Bring with you to the interview? We’ll cover what you need to know before your interview.

What’s Your Story?
Wednesday February 4
Who am I? What can I contribute to an employer? We all have a career story. What’s yours, and how do you share it with employers?   

What Can I Do With THAT Major?
Monday February 16
Tuesday March 10
Don’t wait until you graduate! Whether you are exploring your major options or determining what to do with your degree, discuss the questions you should be asking now to set yourself up for future success.

So You’re Thinking Grad School?
Tuesday February 10
Monday March 9
Is graduate school right for you? How do you apply? We’ll discuss areas to consider when looking at an advanced degree program.

Creating a Powerful Punch Using a Resume Summary
Monday February 2
Thursday April 2

Do you want to grab an employer’s attention quickly? Learn how to provide a quick snapshot of your experiences.

Dear Sir, Madam…To Whom It May Concern...OH MY How Do I Write a Cover Letter?
Wednesday February 18
Thursday April 16

Does anyone even read cover letters? What is different about a cover letter and my resume?
Come to this session for advice!

I Have To Write a Different Resume For EVERY Job?
Tuesday January 27
Wednesday March 4

Your resume is an important job-hunting tool; its purpose is to persuade an employer to call you for an interview.  Learn how to write a job specific resume.


Back to top


Professional Development Series

Don’t Hit Send Yet!
Thursday January 29

Is your email ready to send?  Is your subject line clear and concise?  Learn common sense tips to send a professional email.

How to Live in Cubeville!
Thursday February 12

Your first professional job lands you in a cube.  Simple steps on how to be a good office neighbor.

It’s My First Day!  When Do I Get to Take Vacation?
Wednesday March 18

How to successfully navigate in your first year on the job.

Manners Matter!
Tuesday April 14
So you think you have impeccable workplace manners? Come learn a few etiquette tips and take a fun quiz to see how you score!


Back to top


Peace Corps Information Session

Thursday, March 19, 2015
3:30pm-5:00pm
Student Retention Services Office, Room 225 MSC

Information Session will outline exciting transitional career opportunities in the Peace Corps working overseas.  A Peace Corps Recruiter will talk about their experience as a Peace Corps Volunteer.  The session will also explain the application process and the financial and education benefits of being a Peace Corp Volunteer.

Pre-registration encouraged Click here to register

___________________________________________________________________

Navigating Employment for International Students

Wednesday, April 15, 2015
3:30p.m. – 5:00 p.m.
MSC, Century C

Chart your course with successful alumni panelists!

Join International Student & Scholar Services and Career Services for a seminar that focuses on work authorization, career resources and communication strategies.

Whether you are a first year student or graduating senior, come hear from alumni who are working in St. Louis after graduation.

Light Refreshments

Pre-Registration Encouraged
___________________________________________________________________

Industry Recruiters Tell All!  What You Should Do Now to Get the Job Later
Friday, April 17, 2015
10:00am-11:30am
SGA Chambers, MSC

Learn about what industry wants in their new hires from some of the St. Louis area’s top companies.

Light Refreshments. 

For more information click here.  Register via email:  ora@umsl.edu

Sponsored by the Office of Research Administration and Career Services

Back to top



UMSL Education Career Fair
Friday, March 6, 2015
10:00 am - 2:00 pm
Mark Twain Building
University of Missouri-St. Louis

This is your opportunity to meet and interview with many school districts in one location!

Pre-registration is only available for current UMSL students and UMSL alumni - you must present your admission ticket at the door. Pre-registration deadline is Tuesday, March 3, 2015.

Admission for UMSL students/alumni who do not pre-register is $5.00 at the door and for non-UMSL job seekers is $10.00 at the door.

For more information, visit UMSL Career Services, 278 Millennium Student Center, 314-516-5111.


EMPLOYERS: Please call Puspa Bueneman, Job Fair Coordinator, at 314-516-5001 to receive registration information.

Jobseekers-Click here to Register
School Districts/Organizations Attending

Code of Conduct for University of Missouri-St. Louis Job Fairs

Job Fair Tips PowerPoint
Job Fair Tips List

Back to top