Skip to main content

Visiting Speaker Seminar Programs

Seminars are held on Mondays at 4:00 pm in Room 451 Benton Hall, unless otherwise specified. Refreshments 15 minutes prior to seminar time. Seminars are typically attended by faculty, postdocs, and graduate students from all divisions, as well as undergraduate chemistry majors in their senior year.


Winter/Spring 2008

Monday, January 21 Holiday
Monday, January 28 Jennifer S. Laurence, University of Kansas-Lawrence Investigating the relationship between the structure of the phospatase of regenerating liver PRL-1 and its redox modulation Host: M. Nichols
Monday, February 4 Lev D. Gelb, Washington University Coarse-grained Modeling of Sol-gel Materials Host: K. Stine
Monday,February 11 Jonathan McIntyre, Quality Assurance and Regulatory Affairs, The Solae Company Utilizing Technology to Develop the Next Generation of Food Ingredients Host: J. Liu
Monday, February 18 Marc d'Alarcao, San Jose State University Sweet Medicine: New Carbohydrate-based Strategies for Cancer Treatment Host: A. Demchenko
Monday, February 25 Bruce Hamper, Pfizer Expanding Reaction Space with Flow Chemistry: Development of the St. Louis Spool Host: J. Bashkin
Monday,March 3 Patrick J. Kinlen, Crosslink Ultra-flexible Electroluminescent Systems for Both Visible and Near-infrared Host: J. Liu
Monday,March 10 Patrick Walsh, University of Pennsylvania Asymmetric C-C and C-O Bond-Forming Reactions Host: E. Bauer
Monday, March 17 Robert W. Murray Lecture
William R. Roush, Scripps, Florida Recent Studies in Organic Synthesis: Applications of the Double Allylboration Reaction in the Syntheses of Natural Products
Host: L. Barton
Monday, March 24 Spring Break Host:
Monday
March 31
Luis Echegoyen, National Science Foundation, Chemistry Division Chemical and Electrochemical Properties of Fullerenes and Endohedral Fullerenes Host: G. Gokel
Monday, April 7 ACS Meeting Host:
Thursday, April 10 5:30 pm Professor Karl J. Hale, Queen's University Belfast, Northern Ireland UK Total Synthesis of the Antitumour Agents Kettapeptin and Azinothricin and Allied Chemical Genomics Studies Host: A. Demchenko
Monday, April 14 Frank Momamy, USDA Modeling: Cutting Edge Tools for the Study of Carbohydrates Host: C. Wong
Monday, April 21 Janet R. Morrow, The State University of New York, University at Buffalo Structure Specific Recognition and Cleavage of RNA by Metal Ion Complexes Host: C. Dupureur
Monday, April 28 Distinguished Alumni Lecture, Timothy T. Wenzel, Dow Chemical Company, Midland, Michigan New Polymers from Old Monomers Host: L. Barton