On Monday May 2, 2016, at 4:00 pm in 451 Benton Hall, MICHAEL J. FINKES, BS 1973, MS 1978, Past President of the UMSL Alumni Association, Member of the Chancellor's Council and retired from a long career with Monsanto in St. Louis, will present the 29th Annual Distinguished Alumni Lecture. The title of his talk is: "My Journey with Monsanto: from Herbicides to GMOs".  The lecture will be preceded by the presentation of department awards at 3:30 pm and will be followed by a reception.

Change in Department Leadership 

Professor Christopher D Spilling has resigned as Department Chair to become Interim Vice Provost for Research and Dean of the Graduate School. Professor Cynthia M. Dupureur becomes Interim Department Chair. She received her B.S. degree from Southwest Missouri State University, and her Ph.D. from Ohio State University. She joined the UM-St. Louis Chemistry faculty in 2001. She held a faculty position at Texas A&M following postdoctoral fellowship at the California Institute of Technology. She is now Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry and was appointed Interim Department Chair, effective January 1, 2016.

SAVE THE DATE  -  Event to honor Chris Spilling planned

 The Chemistry Alumni Council will honor Chris Spilling for his invaluable dedication to the department during his 11-plus years as Chair on Saturday afternoon, May 21 from 3-5:00 pm in the JC Penney Building Lobby. If you plan to attend, please respond by contacting Michelle Haley at 314-516-5311 or better

On Monday March 21 at 4:00 pm in 104 Stadler Hall  Professor MICHAEL J. KRISCHE, of the Department of Chemistry at the University of Texas-Austin, Director, Center for Green Chemistry and Catalysis, Robert A. Welch Chair in Science and a faculty member in the Environmental Science Institute, will present the 19th Annual Robert W. Murray Lecture. For details click here.