UMSL Chemist is our annual magazine of departmental and alumni news. The Fall 2014 edition is available electronically by clicking here.  It will be mailed to you shortly.  If you have news of Chemistry Department Alumni or just want to get in touch, email the editor, Professor Lol Barton.

Archived issues of UMSL CHEMIST


On May 9, 2015 at 3:00 pm we have scheduled a Chemistry Alumni Reception
At this alumni reunion, the Chemistry Alumni Council
will honor the careers of Professors Jane Miller, Hal Harris,
and all alumni in the field of education. It will be held in the J. C. Penney Building Foyer.
Details will follow.


On April 6 2015 PROFESSOR R. GRAHAM COOKS, Henry Bohn Hass Distinguished Professor of Chemistry at Purdue University will present the Eighteenth Annual Robert W. Murray Lecture.  Details will be forthcoming.

On May 4, 2015 DR. MICHAEL GROANING, BA 1995, MS 1997, Associate Director CMC, and Alliance Manager, Endocyte Inc., in Lafayette, IN will present the 28th Annual Distinguished Alumni Lecture His title is: "An Unexpected Journey: From Benton Hall to Basel and Everywhere Else in Between".

UM-St. Louis Distinguished Alumni Awards

UM-St. Louis Distinguished Alumni Awards to Chemists

Distinguished Alumni Lecturers
A former student from the Department of Chemistry at UM-St. Louis delivers this annual lecture, which is followed by a reception. This forms part of the regular departmental seminar program and is typically scheduled for the first Monday in May as the final seminar of the academic year. The lecture follows presentation of the Annual Departmental Awards.